New Aspire 7 almost gave up two days after being bought.

ElectrifyingOnyx
ElectrifyingOnyx Member Posts: 15 Troubleshooter
edited August 2023 in 2019 Archives
Hello everyone! I hope you're all doing well.

So...I'm completely new to this entire community and all, but I hope I'll be able to get some good advice from here.

Anyways. About 5 days ago I bought a new laptop since my old one was starting to get fall apart and didn't really fit my purposes anymore. I bought an Acer Aspire 7 A717-72G for about 900€ and it delivered really quick and came last friday.

So...Everything was working fine with the device and all, until Saturday evening when I used the laptop for a couple hours, I managed to get the battery down to 27%, and since it was getting late, I went to plug it in. It was still working normally at this point but maybe knowing what I did before will help resolve my issue.

Anyhow, I opened a new tab in my browser to access my Office account, since I wanted to Sign in my work I did the entire evening to Teams. So, when I opened Teams online it just loaded for a couple seconds and then....

the computer completely froze.

I tried everything in order to unfreeze it but nothing worked. Even the system time was frozen and Ctrl+Alt+Delete didn't work as well, so I held the power button until it turned off.

I then turned it on again, but it didn't work. The keyboard was lit, and the system played the typical "Bleep" sound when I plugged it out. But there was nothing on the screen.

So, after some research I decided to plug it out and press the battery reset button. I then let it sit over night.

The next day, which is today, I tried turning the thing on again, and it actually worked! However the Acer symbol showed but then for a second it flashed "Installing System Update" and went black. The screen shortly after lit up again, and displayed the same message along with the Logo.