Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Wifi Issue Helios 300

SilvanSilvan Posts: 8Member

Tinkerer

edited February 3 in Predator Laptops
Every so often, (10-20 minutes) my WiFi (only on my predator laptop) stops working for about 20 seconds. This is very problematic because this means every time I am playing a game I get disconnected. I have tried resetting my router, and also reinstalled my WiFi drivers. Please fix my laptop is not even 6 months old.

FAQ & Answers

  • asad814asad814 Posts: 344Member Seasoned Practitioner
    Your laptop model? And your wifi model?
  • sri369sri369 Posts: 1,471Member Supercomputer Wrangler
    Silvan said:
    Every so often, (10-20 minutes) my WiFi (only on my predator laptop) stops working for about 20 seconds. This is very problematic because this means every time I am playing a game I get disconnected. I have tried resetting my router, and also reinstalled my WiFi drivers. Please fix my laptop is not even 6 months old.
    Is this happening on all WiFi networks?
  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,393Member Mainframe Wrangler
    edited January 18
    Well i never had an issue with my wifi adapter anywhere in fact @work (Hotel guest wifi) i am the only one who can get the same speed on wifi as on the  private ethernet connection (the server router here is a draytek vigor 2960) and not even a galaxy s9+ can reach my speed i get the 100mb/100mb that the fiber line connection supports and i was amazed never seen that before on wifi,  but mine is not the killer wifi adapter but even so as far as i know the killer drivers only had a memory leak which was fixable by the way what's your router brand/model and are you on 2.4ghz or 5ghz band sometimes its the router itself who doesn't support certain devices just a thought though i only use fritzboxes as my home router have one as 7490 as main and 2 7360 as repeaters :)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https//www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • SilvanSilvan Posts: 8Member

    Tinkerer

    I have the Acer Predator Helios 300, with the Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4A. This happens everywhere. I'm pretty sure my router is 2.4ghz I'll make sure when I get home.
  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,393Member Mainframe Wrangler
    edited January 31
    Silvan said:
    I have the Acer Predator Helios 300, with the Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4A. This happens everywhere. I'm pretty sure my router is 2.4ghz I'll make sure when I get home.
    It may be you router kicking it out as maybe too many devices connected to it anyway 5ghz is recommended as it supports more traffic and devices than 2.4ghz some devices only support 2.4 as most of my phones and my older acer laptops (2 x 5740G 1 x 7745G), hp mini 210, compaq cq60 and NX7010 so those are all on 2.4 but any other devices that support 5ghz like my nvidia shield, moto xplay, droid turbo 2 and the predator are all on 5ghz (of course you need a good 5ghz router)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https//www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • SilvanSilvan Posts: 8Member

    Tinkerer

    It definitely isn't something to do with my router. There is something wrong with either the driver, or possibly hardware.
  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,393Member Mainframe Wrangler
    Have i tried it on any othe network apart from yours and does it do the same ?


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https//www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • XdxDXdxD Posts: 281Member Practitioner
    Silvan said:
    I have the Acer Predator Helios 300, with the Qualcomm Atheros QCA61x4A. This happens everywhere. I'm pretty sure my router is 2.4ghz I'll make sure when I get home.
    Driver version?
    Trying to do my best here - Your happy Predator owner =)!
  • SilvanSilvan Posts: 8Member

    Tinkerer

    Latest update for the driver, and yes it does it on other networks.
  • XdxDXdxD Posts: 281Member Practitioner
    Silvan said:
    Latest update for the driver, and yes it does it on other networks.
    Where did you get this latest update?
    Trying to do my best here - Your happy Predator owner =)!
  • SilvanSilvan Posts: 8Member

    Tinkerer

    The Acer website, where you put in your model number and they give you the latest drivers for that model.
  • XdxDXdxD Posts: 281Member Practitioner
    Silvan said:
    The Acer website, where you put in your model number and they give you the latest drivers for that model.
    I have 12.0.0.703 installed. What about you?
    Trying to do my best here - Your happy Predator owner =)!
  • SilvanSilvan Posts: 8Member

    Tinkerer

    Yes same here.
  • XdxDXdxD Posts: 281Member Practitioner
    Visit Acer Service center. Get it checked there. They will fix it for you for free if it is still under warranty.
    Trying to do my best here - Your happy Predator owner =)!
  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,393Member Mainframe Wrangler
    edited February 5
    well seems to me u might have a faulty wifi adapter which it could also happen or even maybe one of the antenna wire connectors loose from the adapter who knows or bad contact might be a lot of things as it was said you would be better contacting the seller where you bought it for a repair/replace if they behave the way they shouldn't just contact acer directly they will sort it out for you


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https//www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • SilvanSilvan Posts: 8Member

    Tinkerer

    yeah i think its definitely an internal problem in the laptop. Im gonna take to get it checked out.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online206

ABHISHEK125
ABHISHEK125
Acer-Jose
Acer-Jose
Acer-Karp
Acer-Karp
AlexB99
AlexB99
andylb
andylb
Chihua14
Chihua14
egydiocoelho
egydiocoelho
Enigma9051
Enigma9051
JackE
JackE
LeeAnn1953
LeeAnn1953
MaClane
MaClane
Maxgrt
Maxgrt
MrfSociety
MrfSociety
NEETESH
NEETESH
SmokeyDarkblade
SmokeyDarkblade
surfgirl1
surfgirl1
tahmidolee
tahmidolee
tiar
tiar
tobimaru
tobimaru
+187 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Here?

Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Intel Extreme KAtowise 2019
Predator Join the forum discussions on our
Predator line of products.
Find out about the Acer ACE program.