nitro 5 an515-51 hot and laggy when gaming

Options
RipeNitro
RipeNitro Member Posts: 39 Enthusiast WiFi Icon
edited November 2023 in 2018 Archives
please help i had this problem for a while now ever since my laptop was new im a noob with computers i have acer nitro an515-51 i7-7700hq 2.80ghz ram 8gb ssd nvidia geforce gtx 1050
and the fans get loud like jet fast loud when im gaming then i dowloaded hwmonitor and i think its getting overheated gpu gets to 100% and cpu i have updated my grapich card and drivers i tried battery change to best performance and battery saving nothing helps i toop some pics of the hwmonitor the pictures temp and temp1 is a few minuts in the game and temp while and themp while2 around 1hour gaming

Best Answer

• tobimaru
    tobimaru Member Posts: 315 Skilled Practitioner WiFi Icon
    Answer ✓
    Options
    If 90 is your average CPU temperature, you're likely not running at full speed on CPU or GPU given they're a shared heatsink design. I'm not convinced it's audio related as we are on similar models and I use Realtek/Acer drivers from their website without issue. However, I've taken a few steps to reduce temperatures which makes all the difference when gaming or working the laptop.

Try blowing any dust out from the fans and underside of the laptop where the intake is. Within the 'Acer Quick Access' application make sure to enable the 'CoolBoost' feature to increase fan speeds under load. This helps quite a bit in cooling.

Another small trick is keeping the laptop propped up a bit on table coasters or something similar. Combined with clean intake ports, it really helps with airflow.