Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

AMD Vega 56 - AMD Driver or Acer

AnimalMindAnimalMind Posts: 9Member

Tinkerer

Would it be ok to use the newest AMD driver to update the driver for the video card? I noticed that when I installed it the Radeon software is seeing it as a "Radeon RX Vega" and no longer shows the 56 in the graphics chipset box.

Best Answer

  • fejermfejerm Posts: 97 Fixer
    edited December 2018 Accepted Answer
    @fejerm
    Thank you first for the reply but why wouldn't FreeSync work with games with the AMD driver? I did notice about 2500 score jump in graphics on Fire Storm with the AMD graphics driver over the Acer one. I am not sure though if it is worth losing Freesync for a few extra frames. I also noticed you do not get the other Radeon tools like ReLive with the Acer driver.
    FreeSync requires special optimization in the display driver to work with the connected display. As of now only the driver made by Acer has this optimization so if you install any other driver than the Acer made one, you will loose FreeSync. THe entire switch will disappear from the driver. Or in some cases the switch may remain but no matter if you have it on, it will not work in games and you can see this from the microstuttering because the AMD released latest drivers do not have the required optimization for the built in AUO B173HAN03 panel. I have not tried external FreeSync display, it might work with that. 

    As of now there are 2 drivers available which has the FreeSync optimization (with VRR windows 60-144 Hz) for the built in panel: the one available on Acer's website and the one available from Windows Update (it is slightly newer). 

FAQ & Answers

  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,560Member Community Aficionado
    Would it be ok to use the newest AMD driver to update the driver for the video card? I noticed that when I installed it the Radeon software is seeing it as a "Radeon RX Vega" and no longer shows the 56 in the graphics chipset box.
    Yup it would be just fine but if you see any issues with the latest driver like it happened with the latest nvidia update  (don't think you would anyway) just downgrade the previous version before the latest instead :)



    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • fejermfejerm Posts: 97Member Fixer
    edited December 2018
    Depends on what you want.
    FreeSync is not the best on this laptop (VRR WIndow is only 60-144 Hz), however FreeSync will only work with the driver released by Acer available on their website and WIndows Update (the one in Windows update is slightly newer). 
    Graphic driver from AMD's website will disable FreeSync (sometimes when you install it the FreeSync option will not disappear in the driver, however even if you enable it, it will NOT work in games). 

    So if you want FreeSync to make games look smoother between 60-144 FPS, use Acer driver, if you dont mind microstuttering and want slightly better FPS, you can use newer AMD drivers. 
  • AnimalMindAnimalMind Posts: 9Member

    Tinkerer

    @fejerm
    Thank you first for the reply but why wouldn't FreeSync work with games with the AMD driver? I did notice about 2500 score jump in graphics on Fire Storm with the AMD graphics driver over the Acer one. I am not sure though if it is worth losing Freesync for a few extra frames. I also noticed you do not get the other Radeon tools like ReLive with the Acer driver.
  • fejermfejerm Posts: 97Member Fixer
    edited December 2018 Accepted Answer
    @fejerm
    Thank you first for the reply but why wouldn't FreeSync work with games with the AMD driver? I did notice about 2500 score jump in graphics on Fire Storm with the AMD graphics driver over the Acer one. I am not sure though if it is worth losing Freesync for a few extra frames. I also noticed you do not get the other Radeon tools like ReLive with the Acer driver.
    FreeSync requires special optimization in the display driver to work with the connected display. As of now only the driver made by Acer has this optimization so if you install any other driver than the Acer made one, you will loose FreeSync. THe entire switch will disappear from the driver. Or in some cases the switch may remain but no matter if you have it on, it will not work in games and you can see this from the microstuttering because the AMD released latest drivers do not have the required optimization for the built in AUO B173HAN03 panel. I have not tried external FreeSync display, it might work with that. 

    As of now there are 2 drivers available which has the FreeSync optimization (with VRR windows 60-144 Hz) for the built in panel: the one available on Acer's website and the one available from Windows Update (it is slightly newer). 
  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,560Member Community Aficionado
    @fejerm
    Thank you first for the reply but why wouldn't FreeSync work with games with the AMD driver? I did notice about 2500 score jump in graphics on Fire Storm with the AMD graphics driver over the Acer one. I am not sure though if it is worth losing Freesync for a few extra frames. I also noticed you do not get the other Radeon tools like ReLive with the Acer driver.
    Loose some win some cant get it both ways it's up to you to choose :)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online155

AboOmarJeddin
AboOmarJeddin
Acer-David
Acer-David
andylb
andylb
D3XY
D3XY
JackE
JackE
KMAK_JAYASINGHE
KMAK_JAYASINGHE
Mauricio_Marin
Mauricio_Marin
Mvchiato
Mvchiato
xapim
xapim
+146 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Here?

Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Intel Extreme KAtowise 2019
Predator Join the forum discussions on our
Predator line of products.
Find out about the Acer ACE program.