Swift 3 SF314-54-55S5 slot for extra SSD?

Options
DanD
DanD Member Posts: 4 New User
edited November 2023 in 2019 Archives
Hi there, another SDD adding/upgrading question, but for a model number I've not seen elsewhere on the forum. I'd like to buy a Swift 3 SF314-54-55S5 from PC World (UK). It comes with 256GB SSD storage, but I would like to add another 256GB SDD drive to give me 512GB total storage. I'd just like to find out whether this is possible, and how to go about doing it? Does this model have the extra slot that is required? I would be happy to go for adding any M.2 or 2.5" etc SSD, whatever works. I'll just need the extra space. Are there other cables or connectors required to do this, or would the extra SSD just slot in somewhere inside? I'm a newbie to this so sorry for any idiocy on my part!

The part number is NX.GXZEK.004 if that helps. Cheers :)

Best Answers

• brummyfan2
    brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 28,104 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Hi,
    Yes, you can add another SSD(256GB), you may have to buy a bracket, cable and some screws, you will be able to buy the cable and bracket online but for screws you may have to try getting from a Laptop repair shop or any hardware store. I have included some pictures to give you a rough idea of the inside layout.
    HDD bracket Part number:60.GXKN1.002
    HDD cable Part number:450.0E70A.0001
    4 screws to attach SSD to the bracket: size M3xL4      Part number:86.9A524.4R0
    4 screws to attach the SSD assembly to the main body: size M2xL3.5      part number:86.V7MN1.002

• brummyfan2
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Hi @DanD
    The pictures show the removal instructions, you have to do the reverse, when you remove the back cover you will find the empty space.