Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

No drivers after Win10 reinstall

loscsaba86loscsaba86 Posts: 5Member

Tinkerer

Hi All!

I have a Predator 300 Helios (PH317-52).

I just reinstalled a legal Win10 Home (downloaded from Microsoft) and I was wondering, that the windosr did not offer at the installation, that I could connect to the Wifi. Because there were no drivers. Normally a Win10 installation already copies every necessary drivers, so you have to make just a tiny update - but that's all.

Now first I had to install manually the WLAN Driver and just after that could let run a huge update to find all the necessary remaining drivers....

Why is that? I was wondering, that the BIOS is also very old style (you know....this DOS-look). Nowaday the notebooks have much modern BIOS.

Could you help me? Will I encounter this tedious problem always, or is there any medicine? :)

Thank you in advance!

Best regards: Csaba

Best Answers

  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho Posts: 14,382 Trailblazer
    edited November 2018 Accepted Answer
    Although windows 10 has a huge amount of drivers, generally these drivers are generic and have only basic features so the computer can work! Devices that have been released recently, will hardly have their drivers available in windows update, needing to download these drivers manually! However it is always good to make sure the driver has the whql certificate, which means it has been approved by microsoft!
    However, windows modified by the manufacturer already has all the necessary drivers for the perfect functioning of the computer! That's why it's important to preserve Acer's recovery partition and also create a system image in Acer Care Center!
    About the fact that the bios (currently called uefi) still be shown with the blue screen, does not mean that it has fewer functions than the bios that are coming with a more modern graphical interface! Currently, all computer models are coming in uefi mode, regardless of bios format!
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em promover! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on Promote!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool clique aqui para saber o número de série ou o partnumber do seu modelo! click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!
     
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,212 Overclocked Contributor
    edited November 2018 Accepted Answer
    Hi All!

    I have a Predator 300 Helios (PH317-52).

    I just reinstalled a legal Win10 Home (downloaded from Microsoft) and I was wondering, that the windosr did not offer at the installation, that I could connect to the Wifi. Because there were no drivers. Normally a Win10 installation already copies every necessary drivers, so you have to make just a tiny update - but that's all.

    Now first I had to install manually the WLAN Driver and just after that could let run a huge update to find all the necessary remaining drivers....

    Why is that? I was wondering, that the BIOS is also very old style (you know....this DOS-look). Nowaday the notebooks have much modern BIOS.

    Could you help me? Will I encounter this tedious problem always, or is there any medicine? :)

    Thank you in advance!

    Best regards: Csaba
    What is recommended when you install a fresh copy of windows and not the custom acer oem pre installed u should had made a backup before you had it formatted with acer software because a fresh windows install will not have the drivers needed that are built into their custom oem pre installed windows even PS might not work properly with any other windows your solution now it's to download all the acer drivers for your model from the support and install them all one by one and hopefully PS will still work (or not)



    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join/follow the H300 fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https//www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


FAQ & Answers

  • egydiocoelhoegydiocoelho Posts: 14,382ACE Trailblazer
    edited November 2018 Accepted Answer
    Although windows 10 has a huge amount of drivers, generally these drivers are generic and have only basic features so the computer can work! Devices that have been released recently, will hardly have their drivers available in windows update, needing to download these drivers manually! However it is always good to make sure the driver has the whql certificate, which means it has been approved by microsoft!
    However, windows modified by the manufacturer already has all the necessary drivers for the perfect functioning of the computer! That's why it's important to preserve Acer's recovery partition and also create a system image in Acer Care Center!
    About the fact that the bios (currently called uefi) still be shown with the blue screen, does not mean that it has fewer functions than the bios that are coming with a more modern graphical interface! Currently, all computer models are coming in uefi mode, regardless of bios format!
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em promover! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on Promote!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool clique aqui para saber o número de série ou o partnumber do seu modelo! click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!
     
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,212Member Overclocked Contributor
    edited November 2018 Accepted Answer
    Hi All!

    I have a Predator 300 Helios (PH317-52).

    I just reinstalled a legal Win10 Home (downloaded from Microsoft) and I was wondering, that the windosr did not offer at the installation, that I could connect to the Wifi. Because there were no drivers. Normally a Win10 installation already copies every necessary drivers, so you have to make just a tiny update - but that's all.

    Now first I had to install manually the WLAN Driver and just after that could let run a huge update to find all the necessary remaining drivers....

    Why is that? I was wondering, that the BIOS is also very old style (you know....this DOS-look). Nowaday the notebooks have much modern BIOS.

    Could you help me? Will I encounter this tedious problem always, or is there any medicine? :)

    Thank you in advance!

    Best regards: Csaba
    What is recommended when you install a fresh copy of windows and not the custom acer oem pre installed u should had made a backup before you had it formatted with acer software because a fresh windows install will not have the drivers needed that are built into their custom oem pre installed windows even PS might not work properly with any other windows your solution now it's to download all the acer drivers for your model from the support and install them all one by one and hopefully PS will still work (or not)



    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join/follow the H300 fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https//www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • loscsaba86loscsaba86 Posts: 5Member

    Tinkerer

    Hi All!

    Thank you all for the answers. No everything is ok. What I made:

    1.: clean, legal Windows 10 install
    2.: reinstall every official Win10 drivers for my Predator
    3.: made Win 10 Update

    Predator Sense work also fine.

    Thank you again!

    Best regards: Csaba
  • xapimxapim Posts: 1,212Member Overclocked Contributor
    edited November 2018
    Hi All!

    Thank you all for the answers. No everything is ok. What I made:

    1.: clean, legal Windows 10 install
    2.: reinstall every official Win10 drivers for my Predator
    3.: made Win 10 Update

    Predator Sense work also fine.

    Thank you again!

    Best regards: Csaba
    Glad to know everything is sorted :)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join/follow the H300 fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https//www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • Glad we could answer your question!
    Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em promover! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on Promote!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool clique aqui para saber o número de série ou o partnumber do seu modelo! click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!
     
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
  • loscsaba86loscsaba86 Posts: 5Member

    Tinkerer

    Ohh one more thing… I heard something about MOMENTUM CACHE. It was regarding SSD... Does it improve the performance of the SSD?
  • Oi! Eu não sou sou a cortana! Mas estou aqui para ajudar! Hi! I'm not the cortana! But I'm here to help!
    Se você gostou da minha resposta, marque como solução clicando em promover! If you liked my answer, mark it as a solution by clicking on Promote!
    Aceite somente a resposta que ajudou a solucionar o seu problema! Please accept only the response that helped to solve your problem!
    Detection tool clique aqui para saber o número de série ou o partnumber do seu modelo! click here to find the serial number or partnumber of your model!
     
     
    ProductKey clique aqui para descobrir o serial do windows! click here to discover the windows serial!
    Para usuários da comunidade inglesa, espanhola, francesa e alemã, usarei o google tradutor! :)
    For users of the English, Spanish, French and German community, I will be using google translator! :) 
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online156

Acer-Laura
Acer-Laura
AmitKharwal
AmitKharwal
dangrasso
dangrasso
IVAN_PC
IVAN_PC
Matheus_Martins
Matheus_Martins
MAXYZ666
MAXYZ666
RômuloSilva
RômuloSilva
SkyXDHD
SkyXDHD
timfs
timfs
+147 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Here?

Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Intel Extreme KAtowise 2019
Predator Join the forum discussions on our
Predator line of products.
Find out about the Acer ACE program.