next@acer 2020

Need support for fixing my Nvidia GPU on my Predator Helios 300.

dshk0718dshk0718 Member Posts: 10

Tinkerer

Hello everyone,
I need help fixing my Nvidia GPU on my Acer Predator Helios 300. First of all, the device manager reports that it is not working properly with Code 43.
I've already done clean uninstall with DDU in safe mode and clean install of the Nvidia driver. That did not solve the problem and Code 43 always tends to stick around.
I then looked up my GPU information and found out that the BIOS information for Nvidia GPU is missing (unknown), so I thought that that could be the major problem to all this.
However, when I tried flashing VBIOS of the Nvidia GPU using NVflash, it keeps telling me that "Detecting GPU failed". So I was thinking it was because I do not have the exact
VGA BIOS for this particular model on this particular laptop (which would be Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 Mobile on Acer Predator Helios 300). I still want to reflash the VGA BIOS for
the Nvidia GPU on my computer, will anyone kindly share with me the VGA BIOS that goes for this Nvidia GPU on this model? I've heard you can use GPU-Z to extract and save your
current VBIOS for your GPU in ROM file format. If anyone can do this for me, I would greatly appreciate.

Also, I am posting these three screenshots that I took to show you what I am talking about.


Best Answer

  • Red-SandRed-Sand Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    Accepted Answer
    Unfortunately it's an issue with many Nvidia mobile GPUs (many different laptops) and the only fix I've seen this far is a replacement. 

    So to answer your question, yes. 😔 
    - Hotel Hero

FAQ & Answers

  • sri369sri369 ACE Posts: 1,953 Pathfinder
    edited June 2018
    Go to device manager, and remove the device.
    Rescan for new hardware. And let windows update its driver.

    You could try rolling back the driver that you updated too.

    GPU-Z did not let me load its bios - saying invalid parameter. Not sure why you even flashed this.
    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve
    ---------
    I am not an Acer employee.
    Your issue could get better coverage and more answers if posted in forums than in a message to me.

    ---------
    User benchmark: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/10977437


  • dshk0718dshk0718 Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    sri369 said:
    Go to device manager, and remove the device.
    Rescan for new hardware. And let windows update its driver.

    You could try rolling back the driver that you updated too.
    I've already tried that method.
  • dshk0718dshk0718 Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    sri369 said:
    Go to device manager, and remove the device.
    Rescan for new hardware. And let windows update its driver.

    You could try rolling back the driver that you updated too.

    GPU-Z did not let me load its bios - saying invalid parameter. Not sure why you even flashed this.
    I could not flash anything. First of all, I think it is the VGA BIOS that is the problem because the hardware is being detected and all, but it is simply just not working as you see on GPU-Z screenshot. 0 memory and 0 clock? That is why I think the BIOS of this GPU got killed when I overclocked it... Thank you for trying to help.
  • sri369sri369 ACE Posts: 1,953 Pathfinder
    edited June 2018
    dshk0718 said:
    sri369 said:
    Go to device manager, and remove the device.
    Rescan for new hardware. And let windows update its driver.

    You could try rolling back the driver that you updated too.
    I've already tried that method.
    When you tried this, did windows install any driver to it?

    Gathered this from my system for you to cross check.


    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve
    ---------
    I am not an Acer employee.
    Your issue could get better coverage and more answers if posted in forums than in a message to me.

    ---------
    User benchmark: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/10977437


  • dshk0718dshk0718 Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    sri369 said:
    dshk0718 said:
    sri369 said:
    Go to device manager, and remove the device.
    Rescan for new hardware. And let windows update its driver.

    You could try rolling back the driver that you updated too.
    I've already tried that method.
    When you tried this, did windows install any driver to it?

    Gathered this from my system for you to cross check.


    Yeah I think it did.

  • dshk0718dshk0718 Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    sri369 said:
    dshk0718 said:
    sri369 said:
    Go to device manager, and remove the device.
    Rescan for new hardware. And let windows update its driver.

    You could try rolling back the driver that you updated too.
    I've already tried that method.
    When you tried this, did windows install any driver to it?

    Gathered this from my system for you to cross check.


    Do you own the same model of the laptop as I do?
  • sri369sri369 ACE Posts: 1,953 Pathfinder
    dshk0718 said:Do you own the same model of the laptop as I do?
    Based on the vague description, it seems so.

    Predator helios 300, nvidia 1060 is what you mentioned.

    Mine is a g3-572 helios 300 with 1060.
    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve
    ---------
    I am not an Acer employee.
    Your issue could get better coverage and more answers if posted in forums than in a message to me.

    ---------
    User benchmark: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/10977437


  • dshk0718dshk0718 Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    sri369 said:
    dshk0718 said:Do you own the same model of the laptop as I do?
    Based on the vague description, it seems so.

    Predator helios 300, nvidia 1060 is what you mentioned.

    Mine is a g3-572 helios 300 with 1060.
    Mine is G3-571 Helios 300 with 1060. Well, I am not so sure of the difference between g3-571 and g3-572, can you send me your GPU-Z screenshot, like I did?
  • sri369sri369 ACE Posts: 1,953 Pathfinder
    dshk0718 said:
    sri369 said:
    dshk0718 said:Do you own the same model of the laptop as I do?
    Based on the vague description, it seems so.

    Predator helios 300, nvidia 1060 is what you mentioned.

    Mine is a g3-572 helios 300 with 1060.
    Mine is G3-571 Helios 300 with 1060. Well, I am not so sure of the difference between g3-571 and g3-572, can you send me your GPU-Z screenshot, like I did?



    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve
    ---------
    I am not an Acer employee.
    Your issue could get better coverage and more answers if posted in forums than in a message to me.

    ---------
    User benchmark: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/10977437


  • dshk0718dshk0718 Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    sri369 said:
    dshk0718 said:
    sri369 said:
    dshk0718 said:Do you own the same model of the laptop as I do?
    Based on the vague description, it seems so.

    Predator helios 300, nvidia 1060 is what you mentioned.

    Mine is a g3-572 helios 300 with 1060.
    Mine is G3-571 Helios 300 with 1060. Well, I am not so sure of the difference between g3-571 and g3-572, can you send me your GPU-Z screenshot, like I did?



    Does the first screenshot of your GPU-Z info mean that you cannot extract your GPU Bios? And I should have the same VBios version but as you see here it is unknown which is why I think I have to re-flash the original VBIOS to fix my GPU.
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    Error 43 is a hardware failure. 

    Motherboard needs replacement. 
    - Hotel Hero
  • dshk0718dshk0718 Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    Red-Sand said:
    Error 43 is a hardware failure. 

    Motherboard needs replacement. 
    So Does that mean I would need to send my laptop to Acer for them to fix this for me?
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    Accepted Answer
    Unfortunately it's an issue with many Nvidia mobile GPUs (many different laptops) and the only fix I've seen this far is a replacement. 

    So to answer your question, yes. 😔 
    - Hotel Hero
  • dshk0718dshk0718 Member Posts: 10

    Tinkerer

    Red-Sand said:
    Unfortunately it's an issue with many Nvidia mobile GPUs (many different laptops) and the only fix I've seen this far is a replacement. 

    So to answer your question, yes. 😔 
    Okay, I guess I have no choice anymore...
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online1.4K

AlanPaes
AlanPaes
batmalin
batmalin
depthcontrol
depthcontrol
DeQ_D
DeQ_D
glk29
glk29
HighSierra
HighSierra
JackE
JackE
Kno63
Kno63
Koo
Koo
LostTimez
LostTimez
Mamuang_kun
Mamuang_kun
MOHAMMADREZAFATAN
MOHAMMADREZAFATAN
Overpello
Overpello
PK2000
PK2000
rmpinho
rmpinho
sdzshn3
sdzshn3
Solta_Empire
Solta_Empire
TADIEMAGX
TADIEMAGX
techiekhan
techiekhan
terry83
terry83
Vanderson3112
Vanderson3112
WillDoNitro5
WillDoNitro5
xmen1404
xmen1404
+1.3K Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3320

Total Points:5757

Total Accepted Answers: 290

GAMING6698 Mainframe Wrangler