G3-605: Wi-fi no longer even an option after update to Window 10 version 1709?

Shadowurms
Shadowurms Member Posts: 2 New User
edited February 15 in 2018 Archives
Disclaimer: I'm no computer expert (like, at all).  So like the title says, I updated Windows 10 to version 1709 last night and I no longer have the ability to use Wi-Fi on my computer.  The computer does not even recognize that there is a Wi-Fi card at all.  Up until the update, I exclusively accessed the internet via Wi-Fi for the last two years so it was working.  The Wi-Fi still works on all the other devices in our house, so it's not an issue with the network.  The G3-605 will no longer see any available wireless networks and Wi-Fi is not even an option on Network Settings anymore.  The rig is still fitted with the original Qualcomm Atheros AR5822 WLAN device, and that is not listed on network devices anymore.  I suppose it's possible that the WLAN card just crapped out at the exact same time I did the update, but it feels unlikely.  I thought it might be a driver issue, so I tried using the install from the Acer website (even though the most recent update was 2015).  The install wizard said the card no longer exists or was ejected therefore it can't update.  I'm hesitant to crack open the box because 1) I don't know anything about hardware, and 2) I don't even know what I'm looking for.  The tower hasn't received any trauma, so I really doubt the card just decided to unplug itself.  Anyway, I'm at loss.  Any ideas?

Best Answer

• grabber
    grabber Member Posts: 2 New User
    Answer ✓