next@acer 2020

FAQ - CPU, GPU, Temps, FPS, Settings, & Other Info

1457910

FAQ & Answers

  • Rz777Rz777 Member Posts: 18 Troubleshooter
     Mine is stable at -100 ;)Nits95 said:

    I just checked Acer website for the 1.15 version BIOS update but looks like only 1.13 is available for download right now. Eventhough my pc had 1.15 version pre installed. Where do i find the 1.15 update? 
    http://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/support-product/7309?b=1

    So I did play the same game (Ghost Recon Wildands) after getting Blue screen of death twice and this time my pc didnt crash but still got too hot and stayed in 90-95degree celcius. Is there a way to reverse throttlestop settings without having to redo each bit? I undervolted cpu to -120 btw. 

  • sri369sri369 ACE Posts: 1,950 Pathfinder
    Nits95 said:
    So I did play the same game (Ghost Recon Wildands) after getting Blue screen of death twice and this time my pc didnt crash but still got too hot and stayed in 90-95degree celcius. Is there a way to reverse throttlestop settings without having to redo each bit? I undervolted cpu to -120 btw. 
    Delete the throttle stop ini file in its install folder, and restart, and you should be good.

    Try using an external usb fan and point it the north of Fn keys on top of keyboard.
    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve
    ---------
    I am not an Acer employee.
    Your issue could get better coverage and more answers if posted in forums than in a message to me.

    ---------
    User benchmark: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/10977437


  • skrobotskrobot Member Posts: 1 New User
    Question about ThrottleStop / "Undervolting Guide". I have Helios 300 PH317-51. I'm trying to make undervolting, but ThrottleStop doesn't shows CPU MHz. Who knows how I can fix it?

  • sri369sri369 ACE Posts: 1,950 Pathfinder
    @skrobot
    Did you start it with admin privileges?
    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve
    ---------
    I am not an Acer employee.
    Your issue could get better coverage and more answers if posted in forums than in a message to me.

    ---------
    User benchmark: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/10977437


  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    skrobot said:
    Question about ThrottleStop / "Undervolting Guide". I have Helios 300 PH317-51. I'm trying to make undervolting, but ThrottleStop doesn't shows CPU MHz. Who knows how I can fix it?

    Click the two + icons on the bottom right
    - Hotel Hero
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    edited July 2018
    @Nits95
     You need to delete the throttlestop config file in the throttlestop folder and shut down (not reboot) to remove throttlestop and start fresh.
    - Hotel Hero
  • sri369sri369 ACE Posts: 1,950 Pathfinder
    Also make sure "fast startup" option under windows power settings is disabled.
    Karma...
    LIKE - if helpful
    ACCEPT - if helped resolve
    ---------
    I am not an Acer employee.
    Your issue could get better coverage and more answers if posted in forums than in a message to me.

    ---------
    User benchmark: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/10977437


  • gjpsgjps Member Posts: 4 New User
    Hey guys, my G3-571 reaches 90 C  while gaming even though I already have undervolted my CPU with -120mv. 

    People say that undervolting the integrated graphics card and GTX 1060 will help, will doing this make a substantial difference? I'm having doubts because my GPU isn't overheating and the integrated GPU shouldn't be in use while gaming.

    What else can I do to lessen the temperature (besides reapplying thermal paste; the warranty is important to me).
  • Saad98Saad98 Member Posts: 52 Devotee
    Saad98 said:
    I tried the solution for FPS drops but that process made me laptop (G3-572) worse. It made more fps drops and lot buggy. Any other solution? My laptop's specs are:
    Intel core i5 7th Gen
    8GB RAM
    1 TB HDD
    128 GB SSD
    1050ti graphics card.
    How to get a proper solution ASAP
    If you want a 'proper' solution we need way more information that that, plus there is not just 1 solution, but multiple to attempt:

    Whats game are you lagging with (some games require 12GB+ RAM)?
    What applications are running when gaming?
    Have you undervolted?

    Skelo
    It happen with all games. Also the games I play do not require more that 12GB RAM. All games require less that 8GB RAM. I generally play CS:GO, PUBG, CupHeads, Forza Motorsport Apex, Fortnite, etc. It also happens even on home screen, while moving mouse cursor, the cursor freezes at a certain location and the it appears directly somewhere else! I play games using v-sync ON too! I've not experimented overclocking or so, I just play only while I'm connected to AC supply. Please can I get solution(s) now? Thanks in advance.
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    @Saad98 Try checking your system tray for something that may be running(something yoyou installed yourself) I know some third party antivirus cause this delay and some updater/internet download managers also cause this.

    Try exiting the applications in the background one by one until lag dissappears.
    - Hotel Hero
  • Rz777Rz777 Member Posts: 18 Troubleshooter
    It happen with all games. Also the games I play do not require more that 12GB RAM. All games require less that 8GB RAM. I generally play CS:GO, PUBG, CupHeads, Forza Motorsport Apex, Fortnite, etc. It also happens even on home screen, while moving mouse cursor, the cursor freezes at a certain location and the it appears directly somewhere else! I play games using v-sync ON too! I've not experimented overclocking or so, I just play only while I'm connected to AC supply. Please can I get solution(s) now? Thanks in advance.
    I'll tell you what worked for pe on a PH317-52.

    1. Optimize win 10, you should find a guide in page 6 i think..
    2. In CS GO disable multicore rendering
    3. In all games disable V-sync
    4. In games you can reduce temps and improve fps if you keep all graphic settings on high but lower settings for anti-aliasing and ambient occlusion. These settings use CPU instead of GPU.
    5. Also use a cooling pad.

    Also i would like to thank to everyone that wrote here. You guys helped me a lot. There is a lot of useful information in this thread.
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    gjps said:p
    Hey guys, my G3-571 reaches 90 C  while gaming even though I already have undervolted my CPU with -120mv. 

    People say that undervolting the integrated graphics card and GTX 1060 will help, will doing this make a substantial difference? I'm having doubts because my GPU isn't overheating and the integrated GPU shouldn't be in use while gaming.

    What else can I do to lessen the temperature (besides reapplying thermal paste; the warranty is important to me).
    Check out this YouTube channel for a bunch of temperature optimizations.

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    - Hotel Hero
  • vorobvorob Member Posts: 142 Skilled Fixer
    What's going on here? I can install predator sense from helios lineup to my predator g9 laptop? Will it work correctly?
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    vorob said:
    What's going on here? I can install predator sense from helios lineup to my predator g9 laptop? Will it work correctly?
    I have tried with no success.
    Have attempted many system info and registry tweaks to no avail.

    I plan on using my Helios recovery drive on my G9 to see if the preset registry allows this.
    - Hotel Hero
  • yttarayttara Member Posts: 6

    Tinkerer

    oh, very useful post, thanks for sharing.
  • ZeroelZeroel Member Posts: 50 Devotee
    Hi there people! Just wanted to ask, one of the steps that might help FPS drop is to uninstall Geforce experience... how do I update my gpu driver without this? or how do I know when an update is available?
    :D
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    Zeroel said:
    Hi there people! Just wanted to ask, one of the steps that might help FPS drop is to uninstall Geforce experience... how do I update my gpu driver without this? or how do I know when an update is available?
    :D

    You might try disabling shadowplay or enabling experimental features and rebooting twice afterwards.
    I've found Geforce helps more then hurts.
    - Hotel Hero
  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,229 Pathfinder
    edited September 2018
    For those who want a bit more boost on the sound i'm running FXsound enhancer on my G3-572 and the sound boost its amazing really awesome sound works fine for me :)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • xapimxapim ACE Posts: 5,229 Pathfinder
    edited September 2018
    tcel18 said:
    I have found that my Predator Helios 300 hits 97c CPU temps only while charging and playing games. If I play those same games on battery power alone, temps will only hit 60c. My question is, can I run my Helios 300 without the battery and solely AC power?

    I am also using XTU to undervolt by .115 and during heavy use I have found that even with a full battery and AC power I actually drain battery % 


    You can run it on AC only but you would have to disassemble it and disconnect the battery cable i found out that my battery wont drain while on AC when on full charge and there is battery software to see if the battery is discharging or not i found it here in the forum it's very useful but as i said you can disconnect it permanently i also thought the battery would die if always connected to AC but when full charged it cuts wont charge anymore until you disconnect the AC cable hope this was helpful to you question :) and my G3-572 cpu i57300HQ runs at max 75 to 78 on heavy games normal its between 60 and 70 has a gtx 1050ti really smooth and i'm not using any undervolt software  :)


    https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/11532543

    UserBenchmarks: Game 43%, Desk 61%, Work 40%
    CPU: Intel Core i5-7300HQ - 63.5%
    GPU: Nvidia GTX 1050-Ti (Mobile) - 41.9%
    SSD: WDC WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 2TB - 71.4%
    HDD: WD WD10SPZX-00HKTT0 1TB - 93.7%
    RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR4 2666 C15 2x16GB - 76.8%
    MBD: Acer Predator G3-572

    I'm not an Acer employee. (just here to help in the best way i can)
    If my answer fixed you issue please accept it for any other users who search for it would find it quickly thanks :)
    If you want to learn more about undervolting/optimizing windows join the Predator fb group and youtube channel:

    Owner/Admin (HOTEL HERO/Red-Sand/Opoka Opoka)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1969145569968592/
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNJwGUHxSJ8FKqAhnOqQuAw
    Acer support:
    https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/service-contact
    http://www.acer.com/worldwide/support/  


  • justchris420justchris420 Member Posts: 3 New User
    Yap I am very dissatisfied with my new Predator Helios 300! Has had battery problems since the day I have had it and while plugged in the battery does not charge half the time, tonight I got this message from Acer care center "Battery life is degraded due to longterm use". IT'S A BRAND NEW LAPTOP and it's the first laptop I have ever had that while plugged in the laptop dies, because it's not running on the AC power for some fracked up reason I can't fathom! Add that to the fact the CPU overheating hitting 204F while my GPU is at 150F according to Predator Sense max heat display. I know it's not just my 300 ether, I have read all the other posts and if Acer can't make a update that fixes the major problems the Helios 300 has then Acer should be recalling this flawed product. 
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online889

55vince
55vince
A_BD
A_BD
BrunoRanieri
BrunoRanieri
CamiloGomez
CamiloGomez
Dave1789
Dave1789
EdsonFerreira
EdsonFerreira
SebGameYT
SebGameYT
StevenGen
StevenGen
Tshewxang7
Tshewxang7
Vsk2353
Vsk2353
Walter1980
Walter1980
+878 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3315

Total Points:5742

Total Accepted Answers: 289

GAMING6698 Mainframe Wrangler