next@acer 2020

FAQ - CPU, GPU, Temps, FPS, Settings, & Other Info

2456711

FAQ & Answers

  • tcel18 said:
    I have found that my Predator Helios 300 hits 97c CPU temps only while charging and playing games. If I play those same games on battery power alone, temps will only hit 60c. My question is, can I run my Helios 300 without the battery and solely AC power?

    I am also using XTU to undervolt by .115 and during heavy use I have found that even with a full battery and AC power I actually drain battery % 
    What are you using your laptop on? Your laptop should NEVER hit 97C, and if it does you need to send it in for repair.

    Temps do not hit high temperatures on battery because the gaming is throttled. When the laptop is on AC, it can still pull a little bit of power from the battery, and is normal. There is no way to disconnect the battery from being used without unplugging the battery. 

    Skelo
    Please quote me so I get a notification of your reply!
    If I helped you, like my post and/or select my post as 'Solved'.
    Please put your laptop model in your signature so we can know what device you have.

    Product: Acer Predator Helios 300
    Model: G3-571
    "Don't cry because its over, smile because it happened."
    - Dr. Seuss
  • tcel18tcel18 Member Posts: 2 New User
    edited January 2018
    What are you using your laptop on? Your laptop should NEVER hit 97C, and if it does you need to send it in for repair.
    Temps do not hit high temperatures on battery because the gaming is throttled. When the laptop is on AC, it can still pull a little bit of power from the battery, and is normal. There is no way to disconnect the battery from being used without unplugging the battery. 

    Skelo
    Battlefront 2 has brought it to 97c briefly at least 6 times. Average is probably 90c. PUBG typically runs an average of 85c with highs of 92c. Both these games are not run on full ultra settings. Most unimportant game graphics are turned down to low. I also run on a cooling table with duel fans drawing power from the laptop. 

    I'm not crazy about having to send the laptop away as I also need it for work related matters. I am very new to high end computing. I fully understand the nature of thermal pasting but I am hesitant to try it at this time. I have only had the laptop for 6 weeks.
  • szymi1987szymi1987 Member Posts: 5

    Tinkerer

    Great Post! Thanks  for the effort!

  • CharlieWaxCharlieWax Member Posts: 1 New User
    Hello everyone and Happy New Year :)

    I would like to express my thanks to @Skelomorph for taking his time to write a breakdown of what's what regarding technicalities.
    Also, I've treated myself with Acer Predator 17X couple of weeks ago (i7 7820HK, GTX 1080, 32GB RAM, 512GB NVMe and 1TB HDD) :)

    So far so good, temperatures are super solid around 65-70 Celsius degrees but I have to mention that I'm using
    laptop cooler stand and I still haven't played with undervolting.

    I'm also playing SW BF2, AC Origins, so everything is running smoothly.

    See you on battlefield fellas :)

  • SkelomorphSkelomorph ACE Posts: 463 Pioneer
    edited January 2018
    Update 1/10/2018 with the following on its way : 
    - Meltdown, Spectre, and Intel ME Info (Section 10)
    - FPS drop section/solutions (Section 4)
    - Thermal Pasting section (Section 5)
    - Clarified that some have gotten 60+ Hz on external monitors.

    Skelo
    Please quote me so I get a notification of your reply!
    If I helped you, like my post and/or select my post as 'Solved'.
    Please put your laptop model in your signature so we can know what device you have.

    Product: Acer Predator Helios 300
    Model: G3-571
    "Don't cry because its over, smile because it happened."
    - Dr. Seuss
  • Jithin0801Jithin0801 Member Posts: 15

    Tinkerer

    Hai, Thanks for this guides, I have a doubt, in my laptop when playing GTA 5 it goes to max of 92c but playing other games like Assassin's Creed Unity and Battlefield 1 it stays below 85c should I have to change anything for GTA 5 or leave it as it is......Whether this will make problems in my laptop?
    (All graphics set to Ultra High in all my Games.)
  • Hai, Thanks for this guides, I have a doubt, in my laptop when playing GTA 5 it goes to max of 92c but playing other games like Assassin's Creed Unity and Battlefield 1 it stays below 85c should I have to change anything for GTA 5 or leave it as it is......Whether this will make problems in my laptop?
    (All graphics set to Ultra High in all my Games.)
    Do you have a cooling pad? 92C is a high temperature, and it is not recommended to let it run at that temperature for a long time. If you already have a cooling pad, and besides repasting and undervolting, the only way to bring the temps down some would be to lower your settings in-game. The choice is yours.

    Skelo
    Please quote me so I get a notification of your reply!
    If I helped you, like my post and/or select my post as 'Solved'.
    Please put your laptop model in your signature so we can know what device you have.

    Product: Acer Predator Helios 300
    Model: G3-571
    "Don't cry because its over, smile because it happened."
    - Dr. Seuss
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    Nice to see my thermal paste video is helping everyone out. 

    Thanks Skelomorph, I always check up on your posts.
    Keep up the good work.
    - Hotel Hero
  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    Sorry for the spam..
    But I've also made a ThrottleStop video just for the Helios if you wanna check it out.



    Cheers.
    - Hotel Hero
  • Cameron1916Cameron1916 Member Posts: 2 New User
    i need help with my Predator sense troubleshooting, ive followed the steps as in deleting the app re downloading it and it wont download right and cannot figure it out, if anyone has had the same problem please help.
  • i need help with my Predator sense troubleshooting, ive followed the steps as in deleting the app re downloading it and it wont download right and cannot figure it out, if anyone has had the same problem please help.
    There are many cases when PredatorSense does not work. When you say redownloading, you mean downloading it off of Acer? Try using a different browser. As for PredatorSense, if the 'Troubleshoot compatibility' does not work, I do not really know. There are some people who have not been able to get it to work.

    Skelo
    Please quote me so I get a notification of your reply!
    If I helped you, like my post and/or select my post as 'Solved'.
    Please put your laptop model in your signature so we can know what device you have.

    Product: Acer Predator Helios 300
    Model: G3-571
    "Don't cry because its over, smile because it happened."
    - Dr. Seuss
  • Cameron1916Cameron1916 Member Posts: 2 New User
    i need help with my Predator sense troubleshooting, ive followed the steps as in deleting the app re downloading it and it wont download right and cannot figure it out, if anyone has had the same problem please help

  • Red-SandRed-Sand ACE Posts: 1,828 Pathfinder
    i need help with my Predator sense troubleshooting, ive followed the steps as in deleting the app re downloading it and it wont download right and cannot figure it out, if anyone has had the same problem please help

    You can try using a total uninstalling solution like IOBit Uninstaller that will remove residual files to remove Pred Sense completely then try a reinstall. 
    - Hotel Hero
  • Jaanam123Jaanam123 Member Posts: 16

    Tinkerer

    Hey can any one help me my gpu base frequency is 1596mhz which is too high !!?
  • Jaanam123 said:
    Hey can any one help me my gpu base frequency is 1596mhz which is too high !!?
    That is a normal frequency for the 1060.

    Skelo
    Please quote me so I get a notification of your reply!
    If I helped you, like my post and/or select my post as 'Solved'.
    Please put your laptop model in your signature so we can know what device you have.

    Product: Acer Predator Helios 300
    Model: G3-571
    "Don't cry because its over, smile because it happened."
    - Dr. Seuss
  • Jaanam123Jaanam123 Member Posts: 16

    Tinkerer

    Jaanam123 said:
    Hey can any one help me my gpu base frequency is 1596mhz which is too high !!?
    That is a normal frequency for the 1060.

    Skelo
    I dont think so the base frequency is about 14xxmhz but in my case its 1596mhz
  • Jaanam123 said:
    Jaanam123 said:
    Hey can any one help me my gpu base frequency is 1596mhz which is too high !!?
    That is a normal frequency for the 1060.

    Skelo
    I dont think so the base frequency is about 14xxmhz but in my case its 1596mhz
    With the possible Boost Clock the MHz can go over 1404 and be stable. It is not really something to be concerned about.

    Skelo
    Please quote me so I get a notification of your reply!
    If I helped you, like my post and/or select my post as 'Solved'.
    Please put your laptop model in your signature so we can know what device you have.

    Product: Acer Predator Helios 300
    Model: G3-571
    "Don't cry because its over, smile because it happened."
    - Dr. Seuss
  • Zahir89Zahir89 Member Posts: 15 Troubleshooter
    Why isn't The Predator 15 g9 592 not listed for the meltdown and spectre security vulnerabilities in the link :(
    https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/535036/faq-cpu-gpu-temps-fps-settings-other-info/meltdown-and-spectre-security-vulnerabilities


  • SkelomorphSkelomorph ACE Posts: 463 Pioneer
    edited March 2018
    Zahir89 said:
    Why isn't The Predator 15 g9 592 not listed for the meltdown and spectre security vulnerabilities in the link :(
    https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/535036/faq-cpu-gpu-temps-fps-settings-other-info/meltdown-and-spectre-security-vulnerabilities


    I don't have an answer. It looks like they are not updating the Predators with the 6th gen Intel CPUS.

    Skelo
    Please quote me so I get a notification of your reply!
    If I helped you, like my post and/or select my post as 'Solved'.
    Please put your laptop model in your signature so we can know what device you have.

    Product: Acer Predator Helios 300
    Model: G3-571
    "Don't cry because its over, smile because it happened."
    - Dr. Seuss
  • Zahir89Zahir89 Member Posts: 15 Troubleshooter
    edited March 2018
    Zahir89 said:
    Why isn't The Predator 15 g9 592 not listed for the meltdown and spectre security vulnerabilities in the link :(
    https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/535036/faq-cpu-gpu-temps-fps-settings-other-info/meltdown-and-spectre-security-vulnerabilities


    I don't have an answer. It looks like they are not updating the Predators with the 6th gen Intel CPUS.

    Skelo
    Ohh no, it's sad and unfair for the customers who got one
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online967

1matheusu
1matheusu
Acer-Erick
Acer-Erick
Acer-Harvey
Acer-Harvey
balefire86
balefire86
Belinea
Belinea
Bobniborg
Bobniborg
brummyfan2
brummyfan2
carolinaf
carolinaf
Dajumo
Dajumo
David2703
David2703
dkoneill
dkoneill
Econ
Econ
egydiocoelho
egydiocoelho
Fred1234
Fred1234
josedaniel976
josedaniel976
juniorpeke
juniorpeke
LeoL
LeoL
LucasMoreira
LucasMoreira
Magne
Magne
Mbruzzoni1
Mbruzzoni1
Mithrlkatana
Mithrlkatana
Mohak
Mohak
paxal
paxal
PJ75
PJ75
randy2811
randy2811
RobertoVilmar55
RobertoVilmar55
SharoFF
SharoFF
stratcat
stratcat
TahaGabek
TahaGabek
TommyBdude
TommyBdude
Victor0429
Victor0429
+936 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3371

Total Points:5842

Total Accepted Answers: 294

GAMING6698 Supercomputer Wrangler