Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Acer Aspire 5750 cpu upgrade

arijetarijet Posts: 7Member New User
edited January 2018 in Legacy Laptops and Netbooks
I have an old Acer 5750 which came with i3 2330m processor of 35W tdp.
Is it possible to upgrade the cpu with i7 2720qm of 45W tdp?

Best Answer

FAQ & Answers

  • Hi,

    I think you can safely install a i7-2620m without any problem in your laptop, i7-2720qm would work in a 5750G model but there's a 45% chance of it working in your laptop, so I would suggest you to go for 2620m.

    http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/CPUs/Intel/Core_i3_Mobile/i3-2330M_(PGA).html

    Please don't click "Like" but click "Yes" for "Did this answer the question", if I resolve the problem.
  • JackEJackE Posts: 17,739ACE Trailblazer

    If it was my 5750, an SSD would probably give me more bang for the buck than a CPU upgrade. Jack E/NJ

  • arijetarijet Posts: 7Member New User

    I already have 128 GB SSD and 10 GB ram.

  • arijetarijet Posts: 7Member New User

    i7-2620m have 2 processor and 4 threads same as i3-2330m, I think it will not effect on my laptop. While on the other hand i7-2720qm have 4 processor and 8 theads, it's a gamechanger.
    So, my qustion is now - 
    Is this laptop motherboard capable to give the output of 45W TDP?

  • Hi,

    Could you please post the Mother board details in your laptop, you can find the MB number around the memory modules or underneath.

    https://www.amazon.ca/Acer-Aspire-Laptop-Motherboard-MB-RGK02-001/dp/B00GBBN24I

    Capture.JPG

    Please don't click "Like" but click "Yes" for "Did this answer the question", if I resolve the problem.
  • arijetarijet Posts: 7Member New User

    Here is my Motherboard DetailsScreenshot from 2017-10-05 12-52-54.png

     

    Screenshot from 2017-10-05 12-59-27.png

     

  • Hi,

    I was asking the motherboard number, similar to one in the amazon link and in my snip.

    They may look like RGK.02.001 or MB.RGK.02.001

    You neeed to open up the laptop and find it physically, normally it's around the memory module.

    Please don't click "Like" but click "Yes" for "Did this answer the question", if I resolve the problem.
  • arijetarijet Posts: 7Member New User

    IMG_20171005_155820.jpg

    I think this is what you want...

  • brummyfan2brummyfan2 Posts: 12,436ACE Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer

    Hi,

    I'm sorry to disappoint you, Quad core CPUs are not supported by your MB.

    http://sps24.eu/product-eng-1104-MOTHERBOARD-MB-R9702-003-P5WE0-LA-6901P-ACER-ASPIRE-5750-5750Z-Gateway-Nv57h.html

    Please don't click "Like" but click "Yes" for "Did this answer the question", if I resolve the problem.
  • arijetarijet Posts: 7Member New User

    Can I upgrade my motherboard??

  • JackEJackE Posts: 17,739ACE Trailblazer

    The quad core mainboard part numbers are

    MB.RGK02.001
    MB.RCF02.001
    MB.RCG02.002

     

    Jack E/NJ

  • mado101mado101 Posts: 27Member Enthusiast
    edited January 2018
    Hello! taking the question, I have an old Acer aspire 5750G laptop, and I was wondering if the board supports a 4-core processor like the other guy asked ... I leave the images of the laptop's plate ... if you can take a hand...


  • mado101mado101 Posts: 27Member Enthusiast
    the Acer aspire 5750G comes with an i3 2330m, and I was wondering if it was possible to change it for a quad-core i7 or failing that by a two-core i7 ... I do not know if you can apply the same answers you gave to the other Boy who started the issue, because I do not know if the motherboards are similar or the same ... that's why I'm wondering to be sure ...
  • Roo51Roo51 Posts: 1Member New User
    Hi guys, My Packard Bell TS13 has a LA-6901P Motherboard and i succesfully installed an Intel I7-2760QM 2.40ghz CPU onto it (Although i can't comment on whether it is running at its full potential, it does work without any problems)
  • BADAROBADARO Posts: 5Member New User
    Today I tried to upgrade my i3 2330m processor to an i7 3632qm on 5750 Acer, and unfortunately was unsuccessful..
  • billseybillsey Posts: 7,079ACE Pathfinder
    Yes, you have to stay in the same generation typically. The 2xxx is 2nd gen, the 3xxx is 3rd.
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online251

alr16
alr16
Ansgar
Ansgar
Balu
Balu
brummyfan2
brummyfan2
currybaguette
currybaguette
Cynthia27
Cynthia27
Cyriix
Cyriix
Eduardopz1508
Eduardopz1508
felmor
felmor
FeMunutti
FeMunutti
JackE
JackE
JeffreyLevine
JeffreyLevine
Kimjessen
Kimjessen
Kno63
Kno63
LabtechHelsingør
LabtechHelsingør
Manu1988
Manu1988
Tia123
Tia123
TurashuPanda
TurashuPanda
+233 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Here?

So, what are the rules of this place? Check out our Acer Community User Agreement. Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Good Design Aware 2019
Predator Join the forum discussions on our
Predator line of products.
Find out about the Acer ACE program.