Acer Aspire Switch 10E screen turning black

Options
Mike_77712
Mike_77712 Member Posts: 1 New User
edited March 4 in 2018 Archives

Hi, i recently purchased a used Acer Aspire Switch 10E from ebay and just recieved it. Out the box it worked pretty good until the screen just randomly went dark after updating windows 10. I looked up the issue and the solution was to reset windows/factory reset (since windows 10 caused it) which i did. It worked great for a while then the screen turned black again even without updating windows.Also i noticed if I close the lid and open it and log back into windows it'll go back to normal and sometimes it'll turn black again soon after opening the lid. Is there a way to fix the issue? It seems software related or perhaps dock related? (I'm new to the 2 in 1 laptop scene lol). Just trying not to have to return it and go through the whole waiting process but if it isn't fixable I surely will return it. 

Answers

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,722 Trailblazer
    Options

Check the power settings to verify it doesn't have the 'turn screen off after' set too short.

Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • Ashura
    Ashura Member Posts: 7 New User
    Options

try booting windows in safe mode and test if the issue is still present. I have something very similar  happening  to me, a clean install partially solved the issue but I suspect it's  an overheating problem.

• PRod357
    PRod357 Member Posts: 1 New User
    Options
    Has anyone found a fix for this? I recently bought a Switch 10e from ebay too and Im getting the same issue. I notice that it happens more when the battery is low and it almost never happens when the charger is connected.
  • JP88
    JP88 Member Posts: 2 New User
    Options
    I hope my comment goes up, since it seems the comments here are moderated.

• JP88
    JP88 Member Posts: 2 New User
    Options