Acer Predator Helios 300 - Hangs on shutdown

Disturbedman
Disturbedman Member Posts: 3 New User
edited March 2023 in 2017 Archives

Hello everyone,

I'm kinda new to all this and never really posted in a community for help because generally i can usually find the solution to my problem online... Well I can't to this one... About 75% of the time when i shut down my laptop it just freezes and the only way i can get it to power off is by holding the power button. I opened the event viewer and the only thing i can see possibly wrong is I get about eight messages of "The speed of processor 1 in group 0 is being limited by system firmware. The processor has been in this reduced performance state for 71 seconds since the last report." for all eight processors. Any idea of some fixes? also a random note is the first time it did this and i turned it back on two of my steam games were randomly uninstalled? I dont know if that was any correlation but I thought it was kinda weird.

Best Answer

• ven98
    ven98 ACE Posts: 4,073 Pathfinder
    Answer ✓

It is possible that you may have a corrupted system file, which can prevent the proper shutdown of the laptop, or it could also be an error in the hard drive.

You can try running 'sfc /scannow' in command prompt and it will automatically scan and fix system error if there are any. And also run the command 'dskchk'.

You can go in control panel and then in 'view by' choose large icons. After that go in 'troubleshooting' and then click on 'fix problems with windows update'.

Always post the following characterisitcs of the device:
    -Model number
    -Part number(not required, but helpful)
    -CPU
    -GPU
    -Operating system

Helios 300 and Nitro 5 users DO NOT update the BIOS to version 1.22 if you don't want the keyboard's backlight to turn off after 30 seconds even when the device is plugged in.

Hit 'Like' if you find the answer helpful!   
    Click on 'Yes' if the comment answers your question!

Answers

• ven98