Acer Aspire ES 15 - Randomly freezes

2»

Answers

• Caralyn
    Caralyn Member Posts: 2 New User
    I too am having this problem. I have also noticed that, even when it is not frozen, typing words into search boxes etc. seems to lag.  It has been driving me mad!  I have faffed about trying too solve it, wondering if it has something to do with latest Windows 10 up-date.  I did experience this a few months ago and ended up restoring Windows 10 - but it was drastic and, obviously, not a permanent solution.

The only way i can get a temporary respite when the screen freezes and the cursor won't move is to power off and power on again.  After the last one I got a Blue Screen Error ...

I am not a techie, my laptop is less than 2 years old.  Any help gratefully received.
  • ChrisTheatreTrips
    ChrisTheatreTrips Member Posts: 2 New User
    A friend suggested the above problem could be cause by the automatic shut=down of screen or of sending the pc to sleep clashing with something in Windows 10. I re-set both these timed options to 'Never' and the problem has gone away. Hope this works for you too.
     Chris
  • Caralyn
    Caralyn Member Posts: 2 New User
    Hello again.  In desperation last night I reset ... again.  I chose the 'Restore' option which allows you to keep files but wipes just about everything else off and then reinstalls Windows.  It's a pain because you lose just about any application which isn't included in the basic Windows /Microsoft /Intel package.  And those that are saved, such as Office, require a new sign in.   I took about 3 - 4 hours but, (fingers tightly crossed), it seems to have resolved the problems I was having with lag and with freezing - so far.