Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Does the Acer Spin 3 have a spare m.2 or msata slot for a SSD?

GigahurtzGigahurtz Posts: 4Member New User

Does the Acer Spin 3 have a spare m.2 or msata slot for a SSD?

«13

FAQ & Answers

  • Hello,

     

    Spin SP315-51 (Spin 3) has a M.2 2242/2280 SSD socket.

  • jenchiweijenchiwei Posts: 10Member

    Thanks. It is verified that the SPIN 3 has a m.2 "M" key connector. what type of m.2 ssd I should get? msata or PCIe NVMe type? It appears all the PCIe SSD is "M" key.

    Does it support boot from PCIe? Where I can find information about the motherboard? Enter to the BIOS doest seems to be UEFI boot.

    The SPIN 3 with HDD is painfully slow and not responsive. What's the reason to sell a i7, 12G DDR4 RAM with crappy HDD to make it like a sub $300 PC while I paid $600 for it!

  • jenchiweijenchiwei Posts: 10Member

    any luck on you spn upgrade? 

     

  • Hi jenchiwei,

     

    All original SSDs are M.2 SATA 3.0 (B&M keys). There is no information concerning NVMe 1.1 supported. They are shipped with Windows 10 so UEFI bios.

     

    PS: I'm not an Acer employee.

  • jenchiweijenchiwei Posts: 10Member

    It appears to be a "M" key m.2.

    20161130_061301668_iOS.jpgCapture.PNG

  • I see only 4 pins instead of 5. M key can be PCIe X4 or SATA interface.

  • raptor88raptor88 Posts: 23Member

    ACE laurent_14 said:
    Spin SP315-51 (Spin 3) has a M.2 2242/2280 SSD socket.
    All original SSDs are M.2 SATA 3.0 (B&M keys). There is no information concerning NVMe 1.1 supported. They are shipped with Windows 10 so UEFI bios.

     

    ACE laurent_14,

    Thanks for your info. 

     

    According to a reply to a question by Acer on amazon for the Spin 3 SP315-51-53C7:

    Question:
    Can you add an SSD to this laptop?
    Answer:
    While the system has an M.2 SSD slot, this model does not ship with an M.2 drive installed so the standoff pin and mounting screw are not included with the system. Unfortunately these parts are not available for purchase.
    By Acer America MANUFACTURER on November 29, 2016

     

    I bought a Spin 3 SP315-51-79NT from Costco.  Would this M.2 SSD Crucial MX300 work?

     

    https://www.amazon.com/Crucial-MX300-275GB-Internal-Solid/dp/B01IAGSDJ0/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1481402121&sr=1-2&keywords=m.2+ssd

    ..... The label on the SSD picture says it is SATA 6Gb/s, 5V, 1.7a.

     

    Guess I'll need to buy a standoff but what height standoff?  According to the question/answers for the Crucial MX300, 2 mounting screws are included.

     

    Thanks,

    Raptor88

  • raptor88raptor88 Posts: 23Member

    jenchiwei, thanks for posting your pictures.

     

    Did you install a M.2 SSD in your Acer Spin3 yet?  If so, which one and what about the standoff and mounting screw?

     

    Thanks,

    Raptor88

  • Hi Raptor88,

     

    Q: Would this M.2 SSD Crucial MX300 work?

    A: Yes SATA 3.0=SATA 6Gb/s

     

    Q: Guess I'll need to buy a standoff but what height standoff?

    A: I think it is a little metal plate. I'll try to get this information next week (screw and "bracket").

  • raptor88raptor88 Posts: 23Member

    Ace Laurent_14 said:

    Q: Would this M.2 SSD Crucial MX300 work?

    A: Yes SATA 3.0=SATA 6Gb/s

     

    Q: Guess I'll need to buy a standoff but what height standoff?

    A: I think it is a little metal plate. I'll try to get this information next week (screw and "bracket").

     

    -----

     

    Thanks for your help.

    A 128GB PCIe M.2 SSD sells for about $10 more than a 256GB SATA M.2 SSD.  I really only need a 128GB SSD.  Wonder if a faster PCIe M.2 SSD would work in the SP315-51-79NT Spin3 laptop?  If anyone knows, please post.

     

    Thanks,

    raptor88

  • jenchiweijenchiwei Posts: 10Member
    Just a mounting screw needed if you get a 2280 (22mm wide x 80 mm long)
  • jenchiweijenchiwei Posts: 10Member
    Got a intel 600p m.2 ssd nvme. But no luck to have the spin 3 recognize the new ssd. May require a bios update. Still no where to find information on acer web.
    I am sure a ata ssd can replace the clunker hdd. But it is kind of defeat the point of m.2 ssd in place and leave me a useless hdd. Better stay away from the spin 3 (acer as well) if want to enjoy the hype of m.2 ssd. Read from a web site how to Id if a nvme is supported: look in existing nvme on the system. Smiley Happy
  • raptor88raptor88 Posts: 23Member

    jenchiwei said:

    Just a mounting screw needed if you get a 2280 (22mm wide x 80 mm long)

    -----

    Thanks jenchiwei for this valuable info.

    mck

  • raptor88raptor88 Posts: 23Member

    jenchiwei said:

    Got a intel 600p m.2 ssd nvme. But no luck to have the spin 3 recognize the new ssd. May require a bios update. Still no where to find information on acer web.
    I am sure a ata ssd can replace the clunker hdd. But it is kind of defeat the point of m.2 ssd in place and leave me a useless hdd. Better stay away from the spin 3 (acer as well) if want to enjoy the hype of m.2 ssd. Read from a web site how to Id if a nvme is supported: look in existing nvme on the system.

     

    ----------

     

    Thanks jenchiwei,

    I Googled the intel 600p m.2 ssd nvme and it appears that it is a PCIe type with a M connector.  Guess your experience verifies that the PCIe type SSD will not work in the Spin3.

     

    Ace laurent had previously posted that "All original SSDs are M.2 SATA 3.0 (B&M keys). There is no information concerning NVMe 1.1 supported."  So I guess that with that info plus your experience, the Spin3's motherboard can only support the SATA 3.0 type SSDs with the B+M keys.

     

    Thanks so much for sharing your valuable experience!

    mck

  • raptor88raptor88 Posts: 23Member

    Raptor88 said:

     

    Thanks jenchiwei,

    I Googled the intel 600p m.2 ssd nvme and it appears that it is a PCIe type with a M connector.  Guess your experience verifies that the PCIe type SSD will not work in the Spin3.

     

    Ace laurent had previously posted that "All original SSDs are M.2 SATA 3.0 (B&M keys). There is no information concerning NVMe 1.1 supported."  So I guess that with that info plus your experience, the Spin3's motherboard can only support the SATA 3.0 type SSDs with the B+M keys.

     

    Thanks so much for sharing your valuable experience!

    mck (Raptor 88)

    ----------

     

    jenchi and Ace_laurent,

     

    I called Acer tech support and the representative verified that the model of Spin3 that I have (SP315-51) does support the SATA type of SSD, and not the PCIe type.

     

    Raptor88

  • jenchiweijenchiwei Posts: 10Member

    The "M" key socket on Spin3  will fit both M+B and M key ssd image

  • raptor88raptor88 Posts: 23Member

    jenchiwei said:

    The "M" key socket on Spin3  will fit both M+B and M key ssd.  (image omitted to save bandwidth)

     

    ----------

     

    Hi jenchiwei,

    Although "M" type PCIe SSDs will fit the M.2 socket on the Spin3 motherboard, Acer's tech rep said the motherboard only supports the SATA type SSDs.  To the best of my knowledge, from research that I did so far, I believe that SATA type SSDs only come in the B+M keyed SSD cards.

     

    I ordered a Crucial MX300 275GB M.2 (2280) SATA-3 SSD from the following link:

    https://www.amazon.com/Crucial-MX300-275GB-Internal-Solid/dp/B01IAGSDJ0/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1481402121&sr=1-2&keywords=m.2+ssd

     

    Will post my results when I receive that SSD.

    Raptor88

  • jenchiweijenchiwei Posts: 10Member

    Got the same Mx300 m.2 sata SSD . It works on my spin3. Thanks.

    Now the new win10 instalation need to activate digital license.

  • raptor88raptor88 Posts: 23Member

    jenchiwei said:

    Got the same Mx300 m.2 sata SSD . It works on my spin3. Thanks.

    Now the new win10 instalation need to activate digital license.

    ----------

     

    Great.  Glad to hear that it works.  You got yours really fast.

     

    Regarding activating the Win10 digital license, I'm planning to clone the factory 1TB hard drive to the new SSD.  Shouldn't have any Win10 activation problems that way.

     

    The clone should work but as a precaution, I've backed up the 1TB drive and also made an Acer factory backup restore drive.

     

    Happy Holidays,

    Raptor88

  • raptor88raptor88 Posts: 23Member

    jenchiwei,

     

    BTW, did you create an Acer factory backup restore drive on a USB flash drive?  If so, how long did it take?  (I assume your Spin3 came with a 1TB hard drive.)

Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online220

alfo2004
alfo2004
Boatkettlecheese
Boatkettlecheese
Chacal2083
Chacal2083
der72
der72
EduardoMoura
EduardoMoura
Efendi
Efendi
Felipe_Negro
Felipe_Negro
Gawain
Gawain
j8ggsawt4eat
j8ggsawt4eat
JackE
JackE
Janko44
Janko44
jfnL
jfnL
lejm
lejm
peektoman
peektoman
revo_rn76
revo_rn76
Venatore
Venatore
+204 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Here?

So, what are the rules of this place? Check out our Acer Community User Agreement. Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Member Highlight

We would like to feature andylb as a destacated member in the Acer Community. With his dedication and support efforts, andylb has become a Valued Contributor . On behalf of the Acer Community team and all our users, we want to recognize and thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 1011

Total Points:2587

Total Accepted Answers: 125

andylb Valued Contributor
Intel Extreme KAtowise 2019
Predator Join the forum discussions on our
Predator line of products.
Find out about the Acer ACE program.