Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Does the Acer Spin 3 have a spare m.2 or msata slot for a SSD?

GigahurtzGigahurtz Member Posts: 4 New User

Does the Acer Spin 3 have a spare m.2 or msata slot for a SSD?

«13

FAQ & Answers

  • Hello,

     

    Spin SP315-51 (Spin 3) has a M.2 2242/2280 SSD socket.

    France
  • jenchiweijenchiwei Member Posts: 10

    Thanks. It is verified that the SPIN 3 has a m.2 "M" key connector. what type of m.2 ssd I should get? msata or PCIe NVMe type? It appears all the PCIe SSD is "M" key.

    Does it support boot from PCIe? Where I can find information about the motherboard? Enter to the BIOS doest seems to be UEFI boot.

    The SPIN 3 with HDD is painfully slow and not responsive. What's the reason to sell a i7, 12G DDR4 RAM with crappy HDD to make it like a sub $300 PC while I paid $600 for it!

  • jenchiweijenchiwei Member Posts: 10

    any luck on you spn upgrade? 

     

  • Hi jenchiwei,

     

    All original SSDs are M.2 SATA 3.0 (B&M keys). There is no information concerning NVMe 1.1 supported. They are shipped with Windows 10 so UEFI bios.

     

    PS: I'm not an Acer employee.

    France
  • jenchiweijenchiwei Member Posts: 10

    It appears to be a "M" key m.2.

    20161130_061301668_iOS.jpgCapture.PNG

  • I see only 4 pins instead of 5. M key can be PCIe X4 or SATA interface.

    France
  • raptor88raptor88 Member Posts: 23

    ACE laurent_14 said:
    Spin SP315-51 (Spin 3) has a M.2 2242/2280 SSD socket.
    All original SSDs are M.2 SATA 3.0 (B&M keys). There is no information concerning NVMe 1.1 supported. They are shipped with Windows 10 so UEFI bios.

     

    ACE laurent_14,

    Thanks for your info. 

     

    According to a reply to a question by Acer on amazon for the Spin 3 SP315-51-53C7:

    Question:
    Can you add an SSD to this laptop?
    Answer:
    While the system has an M.2 SSD slot, this model does not ship with an M.2 drive installed so the standoff pin and mounting screw are not included with the system. Unfortunately these parts are not available for purchase.
    By Acer America MANUFACTURER on November 29, 2016

     

    I bought a Spin 3 SP315-51-79NT from Costco.  Would this M.2 SSD Crucial MX300 work?

     

    https://www.amazon.com/Crucial-MX300-275GB-Internal-Solid/dp/B01IAGSDJ0/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1481402121&sr=1-2&keywords=m.2+ssd

    ..... The label on the SSD picture says it is SATA 6Gb/s, 5V, 1.7a.

     

    Guess I'll need to buy a standoff but what height standoff?  According to the question/answers for the Crucial MX300, 2 mounting screws are included.

     

    Thanks,

    Raptor88

  • raptor88raptor88 Member Posts: 23

    jenchiwei, thanks for posting your pictures.

     

    Did you install a M.2 SSD in your Acer Spin3 yet?  If so, which one and what about the standoff and mounting screw?

     

    Thanks,

    Raptor88

  • Hi Raptor88,

     

    Q: Would this M.2 SSD Crucial MX300 work?

    A: Yes SATA 3.0=SATA 6Gb/s

     

    Q: Guess I'll need to buy a standoff but what height standoff?

    A: I think it is a little metal plate. I'll try to get this information next week (screw and "bracket").

    France
  • raptor88raptor88 Member Posts: 23

    Ace Laurent_14 said:

    Q: Would this M.2 SSD Crucial MX300 work?

    A: Yes SATA 3.0=SATA 6Gb/s

     

    Q: Guess I'll need to buy a standoff but what height standoff?

    A: I think it is a little metal plate. I'll try to get this information next week (screw and "bracket").

     

    -----

     

    Thanks for your help.

    A 128GB PCIe M.2 SSD sells for about $10 more than a 256GB SATA M.2 SSD.  I really only need a 128GB SSD.  Wonder if a faster PCIe M.2 SSD would work in the SP315-51-79NT Spin3 laptop?  If anyone knows, please post.

     

    Thanks,

    raptor88

  • jenchiweijenchiwei Member Posts: 10
    Just a mounting screw needed if you get a 2280 (22mm wide x 80 mm long)
  • jenchiweijenchiwei Member Posts: 10
    Got a intel 600p m.2 ssd nvme. But no luck to have the spin 3 recognize the new ssd. May require a bios update. Still no where to find information on acer web.
    I am sure a ata ssd can replace the clunker hdd. But it is kind of defeat the point of m.2 ssd in place and leave me a useless hdd. Better stay away from the spin 3 (acer as well) if want to enjoy the hype of m.2 ssd. Read from a web site how to Id if a nvme is supported: look in existing nvme on the system. Smiley Happy
  • raptor88raptor88 Member Posts: 23

    jenchiwei said:

    Just a mounting screw needed if you get a 2280 (22mm wide x 80 mm long)

    -----

    Thanks jenchiwei for this valuable info.

    mck

  • raptor88raptor88 Member Posts: 23

    jenchiwei said:

    Got a intel 600p m.2 ssd nvme. But no luck to have the spin 3 recognize the new ssd. May require a bios update. Still no where to find information on acer web.
    I am sure a ata ssd can replace the clunker hdd. But it is kind of defeat the point of m.2 ssd in place and leave me a useless hdd. Better stay away from the spin 3 (acer as well) if want to enjoy the hype of m.2 ssd. Read from a web site how to Id if a nvme is supported: look in existing nvme on the system.

     

    ----------

     

    Thanks jenchiwei,

    I Googled the intel 600p m.2 ssd nvme and it appears that it is a PCIe type with a M connector.  Guess your experience verifies that the PCIe type SSD will not work in the Spin3.

     

    Ace laurent had previously posted that "All original SSDs are M.2 SATA 3.0 (B&M keys). There is no information concerning NVMe 1.1 supported."  So I guess that with that info plus your experience, the Spin3's motherboard can only support the SATA 3.0 type SSDs with the B+M keys.

     

    Thanks so much for sharing your valuable experience!

    mck

  • raptor88raptor88 Member Posts: 23

    Raptor88 said:

     

    Thanks jenchiwei,

    I Googled the intel 600p m.2 ssd nvme and it appears that it is a PCIe type with a M connector.  Guess your experience verifies that the PCIe type SSD will not work in the Spin3.

     

    Ace laurent had previously posted that "All original SSDs are M.2 SATA 3.0 (B&M keys). There is no information concerning NVMe 1.1 supported."  So I guess that with that info plus your experience, the Spin3's motherboard can only support the SATA 3.0 type SSDs with the B+M keys.

     

    Thanks so much for sharing your valuable experience!

    mck (Raptor 88)

    ----------

     

    jenchi and Ace_laurent,

     

    I called Acer tech support and the representative verified that the model of Spin3 that I have (SP315-51) does support the SATA type of SSD, and not the PCIe type.

     

    Raptor88

  • jenchiweijenchiwei Member Posts: 10

    The "M" key socket on Spin3  will fit both M+B and M key ssd image

  • raptor88raptor88 Member Posts: 23

    jenchiwei said:

    The "M" key socket on Spin3  will fit both M+B and M key ssd.  (image omitted to save bandwidth)

     

    ----------

     

    Hi jenchiwei,

    Although "M" type PCIe SSDs will fit the M.2 socket on the Spin3 motherboard, Acer's tech rep said the motherboard only supports the SATA type SSDs.  To the best of my knowledge, from research that I did so far, I believe that SATA type SSDs only come in the B+M keyed SSD cards.

     

    I ordered a Crucial MX300 275GB M.2 (2280) SATA-3 SSD from the following link:

    https://www.amazon.com/Crucial-MX300-275GB-Internal-Solid/dp/B01IAGSDJ0/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1481402121&sr=1-2&keywords=m.2+ssd

     

    Will post my results when I receive that SSD.

    Raptor88

  • jenchiweijenchiwei Member Posts: 10

    Got the same Mx300 m.2 sata SSD . It works on my spin3. Thanks.

    Now the new win10 instalation need to activate digital license.

  • raptor88raptor88 Member Posts: 23

    jenchiwei said:

    Got the same Mx300 m.2 sata SSD . It works on my spin3. Thanks.

    Now the new win10 instalation need to activate digital license.

    ----------

     

    Great.  Glad to hear that it works.  You got yours really fast.

     

    Regarding activating the Win10 digital license, I'm planning to clone the factory 1TB hard drive to the new SSD.  Shouldn't have any Win10 activation problems that way.

     

    The clone should work but as a precaution, I've backed up the 1TB drive and also made an Acer factory backup restore drive.

     

    Happy Holidays,

    Raptor88

  • raptor88raptor88 Member Posts: 23

    jenchiwei,

     

    BTW, did you create an Acer factory backup restore drive on a USB flash drive?  If so, how long did it take?  (I assume your Spin3 came with a 1TB hard drive.)

Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online359

Acer-Karp
Acer-Karp
Acer-Laura
Acer-Laura
azy99
azy99
Betow
Betow
blewyd
blewyd
Brian1155
Brian1155
CombatEngineer_2
CombatEngineer_2
drsn2003
drsn2003
egydiocoelho
egydiocoelho
Elveon93
Elveon93
GabrieleBrandao
GabrieleBrandao
Hucksterhawk
Hucksterhawk
janime3
janime3
JGTV
JGTV
KARANPREET
KARANPREET
Kno63
Kno63
Leandro1982
Leandro1982
lu4414
lu4414
lukastteles
lukastteles
MaClane
MaClane
mafig369
mafig369
Mija
Mija
missmarmaladee
missmarmaladee
NadimSilveira
NadimSilveira
Paddu
Paddu
ralppp
ralppp
sobordinates
sobordinates
TheMechanic8888
TheMechanic8888
Vasquez
Vasquez
+330 Guests

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos

Member Highlight

We want to recognize GAMING6698's dedicated efforts in the Acer Community. GAMING6698 has become one of the main collaborators since joining the Community in November of 2019.
On behalf of all our users and the Acer Team, we thank you for your dedication!

Total Posts and Comments: 3094

Total Points:5387

Total Accepted Answers: 271

GAMING6698 Mainframe Wrangler