My HDD on my laptop got ruined,I cannot open my laptop .

kikof1
kikof1 Member Posts: 8 New User

HDD on my laptop got ruined,I cannot open my laptop .

I need to know if i buy another HDD what do i have to do to install windows if i do not have a disk...Is there a free windows where I can download it to my other Laptop and install it on my new HDD?/

Answers

• sharky25k
    sharky25k Member Posts: 473 Skilled Practitioner WiFi Icon

Hi,

What notebook do you have?

What does mean the HDD is not working? Because if you still can access the data, you can recover the files and also the OS.

Also what operating system did you have?

If you want an answer you should provide these details...

• kikof1

Soory Sharky,

Since i am a newbie non teckie i try to explain ...what is a OS...

• sharky25k

Hi,

An OS- Operating system. What windows you had on your notebook? Windows 10? Windows 8.1 or Windows 7? Because depending on the answer we can guide you where to download the windows. and how to install it, on your new hard disk.

• kikof1

it  had windows 10..... have a new disk, ..I am using an HP laptop Would you be so kind and guide me through the process of getting my daughters ACER going?

• sharky25k

Hi,

Well I don't know what notebook you have, so to install the new HDD I would suggest to try to search on youtube how to disassemble your specific notebook. Nowadays for almost any notebooks  you can find videos how to disassemble and change/upgrade some of the components.

With windows, it's quite simple.

Go here:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10

Download the media creation tool.

You will need a 4GB usb (or bigger).

Start the tool, click accept then select create installation media for another PC. Select the language and then select USB and wait for the tool to create the media.