Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Acer E1-531-2801 CPU Support List

jokichajokicha Member Posts: 9

I was wondering if anyone had a list for what cpu's this laptop supports.

Processor: Intel B820 (Dual core 1.7ghz)

TDP: 35W

Socket: G2

Microarchitechture: Sandy Bridge

 

Socket G2 cpu list:
http://www.cpu-world.com/Sockets/Socket%20G2%20%28rPGA988B%29.html

I want to upgrade my cpu from one of the cpus from that list, i would like an i5 or i3. i just need to know which ones the motherboard supports.

Best Answer

  • laurent_14laurent_14 Posts: 8,550 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer

    Hello,

     

    Here are the original processors of Aspire E1-531:

    Spoiler
    KC.10001.CM5CPU.CEL-1005M/1.9G/1600/35W
    KC.10001.CMPCPU.CEL-1000M/1.8G/1600/35W
    KC.20201.PMPCPU.PENTIUM-2020M/2.4G/1600/35W
    KC.81501.CMBCPU.CEL.B815/1.6G/35W/DDR-1333
    KC.82001.CMBCPU.CEL.B820/1.7G/35W/DDR-1333
    KC.83001.CMBCPU.CEL.B830/1.8G/35W/DDR-1333
    KC.95001.DPBCPU.PENTIUM.B950.2.1G.2MB.1333
    KC.96001.DPBCPU.PENTIUM.B960.2.2G.2MB.1333
    KC.97001.DPBCPU.DUAL.CORE.B970.2.3G.1333
    KC.98001.DPBCPU.CORE2-B980/2.4G/1333
    France
«1

FAQ & Answers

  • laurent_14laurent_14 ACE Posts: 8,550 Trailblazer
    Accepted Answer

    Hello,

     

    Here are the original processors of Aspire E1-531:

    Spoiler
    KC.10001.CM5CPU.CEL-1005M/1.9G/1600/35W
    KC.10001.CMPCPU.CEL-1000M/1.8G/1600/35W
    KC.20201.PMPCPU.PENTIUM-2020M/2.4G/1600/35W
    KC.81501.CMBCPU.CEL.B815/1.6G/35W/DDR-1333
    KC.82001.CMBCPU.CEL.B820/1.7G/35W/DDR-1333
    KC.83001.CMBCPU.CEL.B830/1.8G/35W/DDR-1333
    KC.95001.DPBCPU.PENTIUM.B950.2.1G.2MB.1333
    KC.96001.DPBCPU.PENTIUM.B960.2.2G.2MB.1333
    KC.97001.DPBCPU.DUAL.CORE.B970.2.3G.1333
    KC.98001.DPBCPU.CORE2-B980/2.4G/1333
    France
  • jokichajokicha Member Posts: 9

    makes sense that those are the 'supported' cpus. this is a low end laptop so i dont expect much support for upgrades. thank you

  • philetusphiletus ACE Posts: 4,428 Pathfinder

    If you have the Mainboard TE11HC HM70 LF UMA motherboard (Part #NB.C1F11.001)  and I think by your model number Laurent_14 gave you the correct list.

    This is the HM70 chipset cpu dupport list.

    http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-Intel_(chipsets)/HM70_Express.html

     

    If you had the Mainboard TE11HC HM77 (chipset) you would have a larger list that includes I3, I5, and I7.

    http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-Intel_(chipsets)/HM77_Express.html (part# NB.C0A11.001)

    Here's a new one

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Acer-Aspire-E1-571-Intel-Laptop-Motherboard-s989-NB-C0A11-001-/131394187767?hash=item1e97b431f7:g:aMYAAOxyUrZS3vhr

    It doesn't get any better than this.

     

     

  • jokichajokicha Member Posts: 9

    thank you @laurent_14 and @philetus

    much appreciated!

  • philetusphiletus ACE Posts: 4,428 Pathfinder

    You're welcome jokicha. Glad I could help'

  • Hi philetus,

     

    All models of Aspire E1-531 are only equipped with Mobile Intel HM70 Express Chipset.

    France
  • philetusphiletus ACE Posts: 4,428 Pathfinder

    Then why does the parts manual show this MB, part# NB.C0A11.001, with the HM77 chipset?

  • Hi philetus,

     

    The document is common to Aspire E1-531 (HM70) and E1-571 (HM77).

    France
  • dipakdas522dipakdas522 Member Posts: 1

    Hi philetus,

    My name is Dipak. I buy a acer Aspire E1-531 laptop few year ago. Now in my mind can I change CPU. I read you answer. can please tell can I change my laptop CPU, My CPU is now intel pentium. My laptop configure give below :-

     

    Processor Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU B960 @ 2.20GHz, 2200 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)

    Chipset HM70 CPU (Socket rPGA988B)

    Mainbord Model  EA50_HC_HR

    Can I upgrade CPU i5, i7

    Thanks

     

  • MaartenKMaartenK Member Posts: 1

    No you cannot upgrade to a I5 or I7. It will most likely boot but it will shutdown after exactly 30 mins due to chipset limitations.

  • clive1clive1 Member Posts: 2 New User
    hello guyz.l have my acer e1 531 with system sku e10649_-v2.07, and processor Intel r Pentium r CPU b960 @ 2.2ghz ,2200mhz , 2 core, 2 logical processors and smbios 2.7.so am tired of using this default processor so help me with the right processor l can upgrade to either i3 or i5. or l can change the whole motherboard with a supported core i3 board ,,,,so can you help me with list of board that can fit with my dual core casing or other types of processor

  • clive1clive1 Member Posts: 2 New User
    also my laptop is now showing a bluescreen and read it has crushed  how can l fix it
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 19,790 Trailblazer
    @clive1   Press & hold the power button for 5 secs to completely shut the machine off. Remove charger and battery pack. Press & hold power button again for about a minute. Replace battery pack and charger. Turn machine back on. Immediately start tapping F2 to enter the BIOS menu. Does the BIOS menu INFORMATION fully identify the hard disk drive HDD with a serial number, etc? If yes, press F10 to save settings and exit. Note any error messages you get after the machine tries to boot. Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • AbhijithAbhijith Member Posts: 1 New User
    Can I upgrade my processor from Celeron to i3?
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 19,790 Trailblazer
    @Abhijith  What is your full ACER model number? Jack E/NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • raouf14raouf14 Member Posts: 3 New User
    hello guys,
    i have acer e1 531
    Processor Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU B960 @ 2.20GHz, 2200 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
    Chipset HM70 CPU (Socket rPGA988B    socket ; G2)
    Mainbord Model  EA50_HC_HR
    tpd 35
    what are all i3 processeur suported in my device ?
    and ty 
    bios ; 2.13
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 19,790 Trailblazer
    You may use any i3 duo core CPU that matches these rPGA socket and voltage specifications. Jack E/NJ


    Jack E/NJ
  • raouf14raouf14 Member Posts: 3 New User
    http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-Intel_(chipsets)/HM70_Express.html why are there no i3  in this list ( chipset hc70) ? did this mean it does not support i3 ? and ty some much erlier.
  • JackEJackE ACE Posts: 19,790 Trailblazer
    edited March 26
    Because those cpus are non-replaceable soldered BGA (ball grid array) sockets, not replaceable PGA (pin grid array) socket that you have. Jack /NJ
    Jack E/NJ
  • raouf14raouf14 Member Posts: 3 New User
    i have found i3-3110m . its supported ?
Sign In or Register to comment.

Who's Online in this Category2

Gawain
Gawain
smiro
smiro

Join in, share your experience!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Here?

So, what are the rules of this place? Check out our Acer Community User Agreement. Register to get all the benefits of being a member! Get social and introduce yourself in our Welcome Forum, or learn about our ACE Program and What's Happening at Acer.

Assistance by Acer


Drivers &
Manuals

Acer
Answers

Get Product Information
( only)

Acer Support
Videos