S5 Ultrabook won't charge

Options
sukyiii
sukyiii Member Posts: 3 New User

Hi fellow Acer users,

I bought an Acer Aspire S5 Ultrabook approximately 2 years ago. One day, the laptop stopped charging and I'm unsure if it's because of the adapter or some other internal problem within the laptop.

I have yet to purchase a multimeter to try out if the adapter is the issue, but plan to do so in the next couple days. In some instances, I've tweaked the plug a bit and it charged in certain orientations, but now, it doesn't charge no matter what I do. At this point, I don't know what else I can do except test the adapter with the multimeter, as the laptop is completely dead. 

Does anyone else have the same problem or any suggestions to figure out what could've gone wrong? 

Also, I'm a complete noob when it comes to laptop repairs and have only begun watching some Youtube videos to see what I can possibly do - explanations would be extremely helpful! 

Thanks everyone!

-sukyiii 

Answers

• Sharanji
    Sharanji ACE Posts: 4,327 Pathfinder
    Options
    Since it charged in certain orientations the issue could to be with the AC adapter or charging port.
    Do you see any indicator lights glowing on your laptop when adapter is pluggedin  and wihout plugging adapter..

You can also perform a reset using the battery pinhole at the bottom of your computer.

Completely power OFF the computer. Disconnect the AC adapter.

Insert a paperclip into the hole and press for four seconds to reset the computer (simulates removing and reinstalling the battery). The battery reset pin hole would have battery symbol near the hole.

After power reset reconnect the AC adapter and check the laptop.

Click the Kudos kudos-thumbs-up.pngto say “Thanks” for helping! select "Accept Solution" if your issue is resovled.

• sukyiii
    Options