hello

Options
tigerclaw99
tigerclaw99 Member Posts: 16 New User

am a newbie here. expecting to find help for my Acer sleekbook touchscreen which is now disabled by a malware. I can only go as far as signing in my userid and password. then the malware freezes the screen with a threatening warning which does not go away but is stuck on the screen. my fault for not installing virus/malware protection after McAfee free trial expired.

Answers

• finlux
    finlux ACE Posts: 1,834 Pathfinder
    Options

Hi tigerclaw99

I'm presuming you have Windows 8.x?

Try booting up in safe mode, by restarting & continually tapping F8. This is notoriously difficult in Windows 8, so try a few times. If this fails to happen, then start your laptop then as soon as you see the Acer logo immediately switch off. Do this 3-4 times. This will initiate Automatic Repair. Once loaded select "Advanced options", "Troubleshoot", then "Advanced Options".

Now select "Start up Settings" then click "Restart". Your PC will boot into another menu. Select option "Safe mode".

If the virus isn't clever enough to start in Safe Mode, use task manager, and click on the option, bottom left that reads "More Details". Now Click the "Start-up" tab and disable every entry. You may wish to make a back up of all your documents/files etc while here.

Restart your laptop - it should now boot without the virus appearing. If nothing appears, download, update and run a full scan of Malwarebytes. When installing, untick/uncheck the free trial of the premium version. Once Malwarebytes has found your virus(es) you may need to restart. When done, uninstall McAfee and install a free Anti Virus, such as Avast, AVG etc from here. Then run a full AV scan.

Alternately, reinstall Windows from your recovery partition or media. This will wipe everything, but if you've backed up all your files/data, you can easily restore it later.