Reinstall Windows 8.1 on the Iconia W3-810

bassie9
bassie9 Member Posts: 26 Enthusiast WiFi Icon
edited March 18 in 2020 Archives

Hello,

I have some problems with my Acer Iconia W3 running Windows 8.1 Retail. Many Windows functions malfunction. The Office Upload Center gives weird errors and Windows keeps telling me that my Microsoft account has to be verified. I want to reïnstall Windows 8.1 without the recovery-partition, because I think the Acer ***** causes the malfunction of logging in and the SkyDrive problems. I am experienced in the IT and I totally know what I'm going to do. I have already updated my UEFI to version 1.07 (the newest).

I am planning to install Windows 8.1 Enterprise with an USB-stick. But I've never done this on a tablet before. Are there any things I should know about? I mean the differences between installing Windows 8.1 on a regular pc and on the Acer Iconia W3-810?

An other option is to reinstall Windows 8.1 core by using the feature 'Remove everything and reinstall Windows' in combination with the original Windows 8.1 Retail x86 DVD. I need the DVD because the feature uses the files on the DVD to reïnstall Windows 8.1.

I prefer the Windows 8.1 Enterprise option. Or should I use the recovery-partition to go back to Windows 8 and upgrade to Windows 8.1?

What do you guys think I should doMan Happy? My current installation doesn't work for me eitherMan Sad.

Best Answer

• bassie9
    Answer ✓

The reinstall succeededSmiley Very Happy!

It wasn't very hard. But you will need a USB mouse too, because the touchscreen doesn't work during the installation. 

Here are the steps:

1. Create a bootable USB disk that is compatible with the UEFI GPT partition table. You can do this by using the tool Rufus.

2. Turn on the tablet and press <F2> when the Acer logo appears.

3. Use the mouse to navigate to the boot menu tab and adjust the boot sequence by moving the USB disk to the first entry.