Windows 10 clean install on Aspire E3-574G doesn't allow to download executables

VyshuRam
VyshuRam Member Posts: 5 New User

Hello,

Hope I get some answers. Couple of weeks back I brought a new Acer Aspire E5-547g notebook here in Sweden. I have my own MSDN subscription and decided the get rid of default Windows 10 OS i got with notebook. I downloaded the MSDN copy(Enterprise) and did a clean install. Then i started facing the problems. It doesn't matter which browser i use, I can't download any executables from internet. Its working fine with zip files but executables I can't. I brought avast license but couldn't able to download the installation from their site. Not just avast, I can't download almost any executable. The download goes for ages without update in progressbar. If i try to download using any download managers, the download gets stucking at 99%. I formatted OS and did clean install couple of times. I tried various MSDN Windows10 versions, the result is same. I am getting frsutrated over this. I need real support now. I hope I am not only one who went through this situation. 

Best Answer

• padgett
    padgett ACE Posts: 4,532 Pathfinder
    Answer ✓

"I didnt understand most of your reply." Is it my English or the technical parts. With an MSDN and multiple copies I was assuming you would understand.

With all of your changes the only common factors are the BIOS and an external firewall/router. So if you have a second PC on the same subnet is it acting the same way or does it download extensions properly.

BTW when you say "clean install" are you reformatting the disk first ?

Answers

• padgett

That sounds like a permissions issue. Enterprise is a very powerful vesion of Windows designed for agency/corporate use with external administrators and can be locked down very tightly to prevent malware from being encountered.

See here for more features but I suspect your issue can be found in the Group Policies restrictions. See GPEDIT.MSC.