Recovery Partition redundant in Windows 10?

Options
DavidPriest
DavidPriest Member Posts: 12 New User

Hi, I have an Acer V3-371 and I have just upgraded it to Windows 10 and it all works fine. I have created a Recovery Drive on a 32Gb USB pen drive and I also regularly copy the full c:\drive onto a USB WD Elements Backup HDD.
I would now like to delete the 15.25 Healthy (Recovery Partition) on Disk 0 because I believe it to now be redundant, and to use the newly available space to expand the space on the c:\drive by a further 15.25Gb.
I am not experienced at working with drive partitions, please can anyone tell me if the MiniTool Partition Free Tool is suitable for this purpose? Also, does anyone see any flaws in what I am trying to do, or if there are any extra steps that I have overlooked?
All advice will be greatly appreciated.

David Priest

Best Answer

• DavidPriest
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi again everyone, so after contacting Paragon I have discovered that when using Windows 10 to create a recovery drive, it doesn't always work. There are many Google references to "Recovery Media Builder" and my new software has a button to resolve the issue.
    It works fine and my issue is now solved, hope that this helps others who get the same error message
    David

Answers

• IronFly
    IronFly ACE Posts: 18,413 Trailblazer
    Options

You can do it if you are 100% sure about your USB media recovery and HDD image.

you can try to expand with windows disk management too but mini tool partition (download the latest available) probably will do a better job.

I'm not an Acer employee.
  • DavidPriest
    Options