I can't update windows 10 on my Aspire One Cloudbook 11 even with 32 GB drive added.

woodallkg
woodallkg Member Posts: 5 New User

I have an Aspire One Cloudbook 11. It came loaded with Windows 10 but it said it needed more room to update. When I added a 32GB thumb drive, it still says that there's not enough room. It looks like it only added a few KB to that. I don't see an Aspire entry for the forum.

Thanks!

Kathy

Answers

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,478 Trailblazer

You need to install a larger eMMC hard drive for the OS updates. A thumb drive won't cut it.

Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ

• woodallkg

Why would Acer sell me a computer that can't complete its basic functions, and why doesn't Microsoft prompt me to install this eMMC thing instead of a thumb drive? And why does Acer support seem to have no idea about this problem? Finally, I am not very tech savvy. What specs would I need if I purchased one of these, and would I be able to make it work?

Thank you so much, Kathy

• JackE

How much personal data and added programs do you estimate is now taking up space on the eMMC hard drive? Perhaps moving these non-operating system files to the thumb drive or an internet cloud drive will allow more space for the operating system updates on the hard drive. The main idea behind a cloud PC is to have only the bare minimum operating system files on the cloud machine's hard drive so as to allow access to and running of personal files and programs stored on an external drive such as an internet cloud drive (dropbox, googledrive, etc) In theory, at least. 8^)

Jack E/NJ

Jack E/NJ

• jamesdaltrey
    jamesdaltrey Member Posts: 1 New User