Check my hardware and drivers

davidmarshall00
davidmarshall00 Member Posts: 1 New User

06Jun2015 - Hi to All - I am new to the Acer Community and am looking forward to asking a question or two and even answering some too.  My current experience now includes running Windows 10 Preview on my Acer Aspire Laptop 5250.  The new operating system is installed over top of Windows 7 Home Premium. Win10 worked perfectly (I started in May/15 so most of the bugs had been worked out) and I am really amazed at how smoothly the new Windows functionality works on the Acer's hardware.  Fast too.

This brings me to why I am here now in the Acer community.  I would like to check my hardware and drivers currently on this laptop since February 2012, but I cannot ask questions of the Acer staff because my laptop is now "Ancient!" and the staff are busy.  Can anyone point me to a location, URL, etc where I might find hacks, updates, and notes that I could use to build my experitise on this machine.  I still have my original Apple IIe, disk drives and floppies, memory cards, etc which may help to explain my focus on the past. 
     My experience includes a decent computer background going back to August 1963...which makes me older than a lot of dirt.  I enjoy reading about computer security issues for home users and I did a stint of a couple of years in 2003 to 2006 as a help desk analyst having graduated from a community college with a very decent mark and an award.  Woo!  So I'm bragging, not to win any prizes, but to let you know I am serious.  I want to see these awesome chunks of hardware continue as a useful addition to my collection of communications devices and help others do the same.   All topics open for discussion.

All comments welcome.  Thanks for being here.

[subject line edited to reflect new topic]

Answers

• JordanB
    JordanB ACE Posts: 3,729 Pathfinder

davidmarshall00,