Aspire S7-392 IRST error

Acesurya
Acesurya Member Posts: 1 New User
edited March 2023 in 2014 Archives

hello, a newbie here.

Purchased a Aspire S7-392.   Upgraded to Windows 8.1.   Partitioned the SSD to 2 drives.   The Intel RST shows error that the SDD0 may have some errors that could cause data issues.

I chatted with one of the acer support reps.  He advised me to reinstall Windows 8, restore it to factory default.  Did the entire process to get back to 8.1.  THe IRST error persists.  Talked again with another rep from ACER who told me to just ignore it!! and that I was not expecting.  Now I am not sure what kind of problem I could end up with .

Let me know of any recommendation.

Thanks

Best Answer

• IronFly
    IronFly ACE Posts: 18,413 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓

ok

can you please tell the notebook model.

i don't know if this is a hardware or software RAID0 but if a RAID0 fails you can't even boot to your OS, since the data is splitted between the 2 "array disks" and loosing 1 disk means that you lost 50% of your data. (very basic explanation)

so i think it's a false error but if your system has an hardware RAID, you can check the status before system boot.

EDIT: give it a reboot and check if error reappears.

I'm not an Acer employee.

Answers

• Ryanrr
    Ryanrr Member Posts: 831 Practitioner WiFi Icon

Acesurya,

If you are getting some information that would indicate that the drive may have some bad sectors, then I would recommend contacting our technical support team again and advise them that you are getting reports of bad sectors and would like them to test the drive and see if they will replace it. That is the point of having a hardware warranty so that you are protected against any defective parts.