Aspire E5-771G 17.3" HD+ - 1 or 2 hdd / SSD slots and 7 or 9,5mm ?

Sehnsucht
Sehnsucht Member Posts: 36 Devotee WiFi Icon
edited March 2023 in 2014 Archives

Just got this baby a few days ago, and I'm really liking the performance so far, except the sluggish hard drive. Used to my high-end desktop, I guess. Regardless, I'd like to throw in an SSD in the laptop, though I can't seem to find any info on whether there are one or two hard drive slots in there, and which dimension SSD I'd have to get. Most of the information is on the 15" laptops. If there's two, I don't need more than a 120GB SSD. If there's only one, I'll have to get a 500GB, if not more. Those things are still pricey, and being a student I don't have a whole lot of cash to spare.

The BIOS references HDD 0 and HDD 1, so I'm hopeful, but I don't want to pick the thing apart more times than I have to. I've seen how upgrade unfriendly these things are. And at any rate, I don't have much faith that there'll be a sticker in there informing whether it takes a 7 or 9,5mm drive.

Any takers?

Acer Predator Helios 700 (PH717-71)
i7 9750H
RTX 2080
32GB DDR4 2666MHz RAM
17,3" G-Sync 144hz IPS
2x 512GB WD M.2 NVMe
4TB Samsung 860 QVO SSD

Answers

• silizium
    silizium Member Posts: 239 Enthusiast WiFi Icon

It's very easy to open the cover on the bottom side of your notebook. You can look for youself how much slots in there. And you could use a ruler to measure the hight. Your notebook is very similar to my model (V3-772G), there should be two bays for hard drives. Normally there should also be a M.2 connector.

Edit: It seems, the differences are far greater than expected. The following video shows the someone who is open his notebook: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TeXdFn0kcME

• Sehnsucht
    Sehnsucht Member Posts: 36 Devotee WiFi Icon