Aspire 5742-7653 Stuck in reboot loop

NanDee
NanDee Member Posts: 13 New User
edited November 2023 in 2018 Archives

My Acer 5742-7653 is stuck in reboot loop.  It starts to load Windows 7, and then the screen goes black, and it beeps a bit, and theen starts over again.  The F2 button no longer gets me into Setup.  And the F12 doesn't work.  I can't get into SafeMode or Setup.  When the problem first began, I could sometimes get into Setup and boot from an external HD which as a diskImage. 

I used to be able to remove battery, and remove HDD and RAM, and then it would boot up from the external HD.  To get through a busy period at work we set the power option so the computer would never shut off.  But this is creating problems with all the Firefox, Adobe and Windows updates that want to run.

This is running on Windows 7, 64bit.

How can I determine if this is a problem with the HDD, or the RAM?  or Motherboard?

What else could it be?

I am not too technical, so please be clear in your response.

Answers

• philetus
    philetus ACE Posts: 4,759 Pathfinder

Go here:

https://neosmart.net/wiki/startup-repair-infinite-loop/#Fixes_for_Infinite_Loop_of_Startup_Repair_on_Windows_Vista_7

Scroll down to "Startup Repair forInfinite Loop:Windows 7

You'll need a Windows 7 install disk. If you don't have one, you can download one here:

http://www.howtogeek.com/186775/how-to-download-windows-7-8-and-8.1-installation-media-legally/

• EEuk
    EEuk Member Posts: 10 New User

Did this fix the problem?  I have a similar problem but the PC loops without making it into windows and I can't even "f2" into BIOS so had assumed that the problem wasn't a windows 7 loop but was some kind of hardware/BIOS mismatch.

• NanDee