Acer E1-572 laptop - wifi problem 'limited connection'

Options
mjb1975
mjb1975 Member Posts: 6

Tinkerer

Hi all

Newbie here, just after some advice.

I've been having difficulty connecting to my normal home wifi. Based in the UK, I have fibre supplied by Virgin with their Superhub 2.

The Acer laptop now cannot connect to the router - says connection is 'limited'. Weirdly though, I can connect via a Netgear wifi extender (which obviously also connects to the Virgin router!).

I do note that this issue seems to be widespread - and possibly caused by the upgrade from Windows 8 to 8.1. However, of all the many possible solutions out there I've not found a single one which solves it. I have tried everything - DOS commands (flushing DNS, etc), changing, updating drivers, rolling back drivers, looking at the advanced settings on the router (reserving IP/MAC address) everything. Still 'limited connection'.

I've borrowed a USB wifi adapter and that seems to connect absolutely fine so it does point to the Qualcomm Atheros onboard card (model AR956x) but, as I say, it does connect ok via the Netgear extender. I did check it at my parents which was fine (they have Sky broadband and a different router).

So it's a bit odd as the onboard card works ok via the extender and other wifi (my parents). It's not the router as the wifi is fine via tablets, mobile phones, etc. I'm also pretty sure this only started when Windows updated to 8.1 so Acer could argue it's not their fault either.

Acer have agreed to take it back (have RMA, courier details, etc) but before I do, I want to rule EVERYTHING out.

Answers

• JordanB
    JordanB ACE Posts: 3,729 Pathfinder
    Options

mjb1975,