Please help! Upgrade a Predator G5900

dannyh9
dannyh9 Member Posts: 1 New User
Hi all,

I have decided to bin off the consoles completely and I want to upgrade my pc so that I have a decent gaming rig capable of running the latest games on a decent spec. However I'm not expecting miracles! I tend to play arma, FIFA, total war games etc..

Please could you advise on what I should upgrade. I have a budget of around £200. I was thinking of increasing the ram and upgrading the graphics card. Perhaps a r9 270x?

Would I also need to upgrade the psu? It says it is a 450w lite on.

I'm very new to upgrading pc's so any help would be massively appreciated!

Processor Intel Core i5-650
Processor external bus 200MHz (2.5GT/s DMI)
Processor multiplier x24
Processor clock speed 3.2GHz
Processor socket LGA1156
Memory 4
Memory type PC3-10666
Maximum memory 16GB
Motherboard Acer Predator G5900
Motherboard chipset Intel H57
Ports
USB2 ports (front/rear) 4/8
Firewire ports (front/rear) 0/0
eSATA ports (front/rear) 0/0
Wired network ports 1x 10/100/1000
Wireless networking support none
Internal Expansion
Case midi tower
PCI-E x1 slots (free) 2 (0)
PCI-E x16 slots (free) 1 (0)
Free Serial ATA ports 2
Free memory slots 2
Free 3.5in drive bays 3
Hard Disk
Hard disk model(s) Seagate ST3500418AS
Interface SATA2
Total storage capacity 500GB
Graphics
Graphics card(s) 1.5GB Nvidia GeForce GT 440
Graphics/video ports DVI, HDMI, DisplayPort
Sound
Sound Realtek HD Audio
Sound outputs 5.1 line out, stereo line out, mic in
Speakers none

Answers

• langsat
    langsat Member Posts: 15 Troubleshooter
    You need to check the power supply that enough for you graphic card. A top graphic card can consumes 200 to 300 watts at max perform and 10 to 20 watts at idle. Just go to the below website and fill up your comp spec and get the watts . Better have at least 50 watts extra in case.
    http://support.asus.com/PowerSupply.aspx?SLanguage=en
  • techy
    techy Member Posts: 56 Troubleshooter