Chromebook home page has been hijacked by Yahoo

myndor
myndor Member Posts: 3 New User

I am new to the ACER community, my name is John, hi, I need your help with the opening browser page of my Chromebooks.

I have 2 x Chromebooks, an ACER Chromebook C720 and a ACER Chromebook 13.

When opening up the the homepage from start I am taken to the Yahoo UK web page. The address of the page is shown as https://uk.yahoo.com/?fr=hp-avast&type=avastbcl

The ?fr=type&type=avastbcl is greyed out.

The second tab takes me to my prefered web browser Google. I have tried all types of forums and web pages for advice on achieving Google as my opening page.

I have deleted Yahoo from settings via manage search engines and ticked the box Show home button and selected Google.

Before I purchased the second Chromebook (ACER Chromebook 13) I had an ACER Chromebook C720 and laptop with Windows 7 to which I installed Avast software, the laptop became unstable and would not connect to the internet. I decided to abandon Windows altogether and purchased another ACER Chromebook, this time a 13.

As well as the Yahoo opening page I am finding the same internet connection problems with the 2 Chromebooks and get messages saying the web page is not available and check my internet connection.

The internet connection is functioning perfectly and supporting TV and phones.

Before I give up can anybody help.

Thanks for reading this saga, John

as well as the Yahoo

Best Answer

• philetus
    philetus ACE Posts: 4,759 Pathfinder
    Answer ✓

There are some thhings that will install other junk if you're not paying attention.Go into chrome's addons/extensions and disable or remove the yahoo stuff.

In Google Chrome under settings you will see an option that says on startup, and below it is 3 options. Select open a specific page, and then click set pages to see if it already has an option entered. If not try entering google.com, and see if that solves your issue.

Answers

• Cory-Acer