Whirring noise at front of tower

larryslade
larryslade Member Posts: 3 New User

Hello. I have an Acer Aspire X3200 desktop computer. Yesterday I started hearing a constant whirring noise at the front of the tower. I shut down the computer and a half hour later I brought up the computer. After a short while the whirring noise returned. It doesn't seem to have any effect on the system up till now. I've had this computer for many years and have had no problems. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks

Best Answer

• larryslade
    Answer ✓

Wow!  I couldn't have asked for more detailed instructions.  Thanks for taking the time to go into such detail. As I mentioned, I've never really repaired any of the pcs I've had. I've talked myself into believing I'm not good at it. I'll give it a try. If I have questions, which I will, should I just add the post to this stream or should I click on your name? Again,many thanks for taking the time. Thanks

Answers

• RevoMaxx
    RevoMaxx ACE Posts: 458 Pioneer

Sadly it sounds like your sytem fan may be going out. I am not 100% sure but I have had some that I have had to replace the CPU fan and then all was better.... It is important as your CPU needs to keep cool. So I would seek a replacement soon as it could lead to more issues if it isn't fixed soon. 

Only other things I have had a issue with is with a CD Rom that when my system would spin up it sounded like it watned to take flight..... 

So if this something that isn't being noticed when your running a CD then most like your Case fan *If you have one* CPU Fan or could but doubt it is your PSU fan. 

James

• larryslade

Many thanks for your help.  Would you have any idea how big a job it would be to replace the fan?  I've never really done much in the way of replacing computer parts. 

• RevoMaxx
    RevoMaxx ACE Posts: 458 Pioneer