Hello,My name is joanne and I am new to the discussion forum. Please Help!

Options
jojo291966
jojo291966 Member Posts: 7 New User

I have an Acer Aspire M5-581-6807. The computer truns on (both battery and corded); however, it is very fast and goes from the Acer logo screen to the following message "No bootable devise, hit any key" and an "ok" is highlighted. The problem is that none of the keys respond even though the backlit keyboard is on. The computer is stuck on the "no bootable devise screen, hit any key". I have tried inserting my recovery discs, etc. but nothing seems to work. I woudl appreciate any and all feedback. Thank you, Joanne

Answers

• RevoMaxx
    RevoMaxx ACE Posts: 458 Pioneer
    Options
    I would say as a starting point, try and start your computer in bios. Then see if you can move around in there with the keyboard. Right and left arrow. If yes press ecs choose yes (exit without saving)

Is this a new computer to you or have you owned it a while and this issue just started?

James
  • RevoMaxx
    Options
    Sorry on my phone don't see a way to edit my post.. to get to bios press and hold the F2 on your laptop while you turn on your laptop.

James
  • jojo291966
    Options

Hi James,

Thanks for responding. It's not a new computer - I got it about 1.5 years ago. When I turn it on it goes from the Acer logo sscreen very quickly to the "no bootable deivce message" very quickly. Pressing F2 or any other function key combo doesnt seem to do anything. 

• RevoMaxx
    Options