Hi, I'm new to Acer community and need some advice please (not too technical please).

Options
jaguar444
jaguar444 Member Posts: 6 New User

My Z5771 will not hold its time and date once its switched off for a few days. I have tried the control panel and internet time settings (Windows, Gov etc...) and nothing works. The machine is 4 years old and perhaps it needs a "new" battery? Is it posible to get one and change yourself please? I'm no computer genius so it needs to be a simple solution please.

I keep forgetting to change the time when I switch on and thus any documents I print have the wrong date and time on them.

Thank you in advance

Best Answer

• IronFly
    IronFly ACE Posts: 18,413 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    Options

there's a lot of screws on the back of your AIO.

about the aked price, it will take about 2 hours to change a cheap part but man work costs a lot.

I'm not an Acer employee.

Answers

• IronFly
    Options

Probably it's the CMOS battery going low voltage.

you need to open your AIO back and remove the back metal plate that cover the whole motherboard, not the easiest thing to be honest.

• jaguar444
    Options

Thank you Ironfly, but how do you do it please and where can I buy a battery? I cannot find anything on net.

Acer are most unhelpful as when I couldn't update to Windows 10 they said my 'drivers' , whoever they are are, are out of date and it couldn't be done. The computer is 4 years old. Built in obsolescence eh! The computing industry is a total disgrace. Machines out of date as soon as you buy them and the operating systems not installed, windows programmes being changed every few years, very unstable systems etc.... Where would motor car manufactures be if we had to install the engine after we bought the car, install a new engine every three years etc.....Never seen a web site auctioning classic or vintage computers.

• IronFly
    Options
    CMOS battery is CR2032 model, easy to find since a lot of cars RC work with it.