I have a DATE TIME / CMOS / BIOS problem with my Acer Aspire 5742Z

Options
Shaba
Shaba Member Posts: 6 New User

Hi,

Newbie here...

I have a strange problem with my Acer Aspire 5742Z (UK) which I think may be the BIOS or CMOS area...

MAIN PROBLEM

Keeps resetting to the BIOS default time ( 00:00:00 at 01/01/2009 ) ..OR.... a time 'near' what it is supposed to be..

MAIN STEPS IN DEMONSTRATING THE ISSUE ...  WHAT I HAVE DONE

Removed the main battery and then replaced CMOS battery twice (in case of a dud)

Main attery back in again.

Changed the BIOS time (using F2) countless times, but it rarely stays / or is correct.

STRANGENESS..

When booting into Windows 7, it nearly always does not show the same date and time that I entered in the BIOS.

For example if I enter 21:35:00 on 28th August 2014 using F2, when I boot into Windows the date and time may say 23 August 2014 at 15:25 ish..

TURNING OFF

If I power down and turn off,  and then power up, restart the time in the BIOS is correct.. at 21:43:00 08/29/2014 (which I save just for good measure). 

If I continue, Windows now reads 23rd August at 15:32

ADJUST WINDOWS TIME (UK)

So, I then change the Windows Date time to Fri 29 August 2014 21:48.

JUST FOR INFORMATION: The TIME ZONE SETTINGS are checked and no changes made : (UTC) Dublin, Edinburgh, Lisbon, London

CONTROL PANEL, REGION AND LANGUAGE, English United Kingdom, Short time 21:48, Short Date:: 29/8/2014

i.e. All appears now to be correct.

TURN OFF AGAIN and I wait a few minutes.

TURN ON AGAIN and press F2 which (this time) shows the BIOS Default date and time in 2009

If I continue into Windows without changing the dafault BIOS date and time, Windows now shows as 23:02 31/12/2008

:-(

That's about it.

I would really appreciate help fixing this problem which is driving me nuts !

Thanks in advance !

Best Answer

• Shaba
    Answer ✓
    Options

...   Just in case anyone reads this...   Woman LOL