I'm on my 4th S7, this thing needs a recall. DOUBLED KEYSTROKES

Options
elouisyoung
elouisyoung Member Posts: 2 New User

Luckily I bought my S7 from frys.  I'm on my 4th one.  Every single one has had the same keyboard problem with the doubled keystrokes.  I write software for a living, and this is currently my main dev laptop(on which I am running linux).  I create about 200 doubled keystrokes per day while using this laptop.

IF YOU DON'T THINK YOUR S7 HAS THIS PROBLEM, I WOULD BET MY LIFE YOU ARE WRONG.

Please reply and lets keep this post at the top!

Oh, and get this... recently I was hosting the la hack night meetup, and someone saw me using my S7...  He immediately came over and asked me if my keyboard was also broken.   I showed him how it produces nonstop doubled keystrokes, and he proceeded to show me how much worse his is...  His was so sensitive you could basically blow on the keyboard and it would type out a whole bunch of characters.

Acer, please do the right thing here.   Issue a recall due to this massive design/QC failure and finally fix this.

Answers

• Alan-London
    Alan-London ACE Posts: 793 Pioneer
    Options

So you would bet your life every S7 has this problem? Not very likely is it.

Far more probable that Linux is the issue in my view (poor drivers).

Without wishing to appear contentious, I would seriously consider a different OS - I would bet my life your problem will be solved!

• bornto_chill
    bornto_chill Member Posts: 6 New User
    Options

Alan-London, you are mistaken.

This issue has been reported numerous times in Acer community forum threads among S7 users running the stock Windows 8. I am experiencing the repeating characters issue myself on my S7 (Windows 8), which is on its way to Acer for repair with the main issue being an inability to operate on battery, also being reported in this forum by many S7 users.