Graphics Card? - Emachines (Acer) EL 1850G-42W

TRJ
TRJ Member Posts: 8

Tinkerer

edited February 2021 in Legacy Desktops
Hello, another newbie here.
I have an older Emachines (Acer) EL 1850G-42W ( Windows 7) that I was successfully using a 32" HD monitor that has a VGA input port. I wanted at first to use the HDMI input port on the monitor. I purchased an adapter that plugs into the VGA port and electronically converts VGA to HDMI output. It didn't work and  now I can't get the VGA output to work at all. I then purchased an MSI GeForce GT 710 2GB 64-Bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 HDCP Ready Low Profile Video Card and installed it. That does not work on any of it's ports either. I have been dealing with this for over a month and can't get it resolved. I am hoping someone else has had some success installing a new graphics into an older PC like mine.

//​​​​​​Edited the content to add model name on title.

Best Answer

• christy1
    christy1 Member Posts: 1,619 Community Aficionado WiFi Icon
    Answer ✓
    @TRJ
    Did you try to remove all cables including power cord, pressing and holding power for 30sec. Now plug in the power cord and display cable and restart the computer. 
    Accept if its Helpful.   B)

Answers

• christy1
    Answer ✓
    @TRJ
    Did you try to remove all cables including power cord, pressing and holding power for 30sec. Now plug in the power cord and display cable and restart the computer. 
  • billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,672 Trailblazer
    Are you sure the monitor itself didn't go out? The VGA->HDMI adapter you bought might have been a HDMI->VGA instead, which might explain why it didn't work. Can you test with a different monitor/cables?
    Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • TRJ

Tinkerer

Hi christy1, I have not tried this. I will, what does this do?
  • christy1
    TRJ said: