Acer Nitro 5 AN515-42 | CPU throttle 2.0Ghz when reaching 75 Celsius | AMD Ryzen 5 2500U

13»

Answers

• P25ani
    P25ani Member Posts: 16 Troubleshooter
    Answer ✓
    Results after Undervolting and reducing TDp to 22W. Temps are way lower and Cpu is hitting 3.2ghz on all cores all the time.  No more throttling .

• P25ani
    P25ani Member Posts: 16 Troubleshooter
    1337Braz said:
    I might give it a try actually... Even tho it doesnt bother me that much anymore lol

Give it a try. I am  getting consistent fps on all games. And lot of the shuttering is gone.
  • amoleb1982
    amoleb1982 Member Posts: 16 Troubleshooter
    P25ani said:
    undervolting doesnt reduce performance bro. underclocking does. i am infact getting higher fps in some games now. And yes I used Msi Afterburner to unlock voltage controls
    Teach me master how you undervolted your cpu. I am a noob in this regards.

• 1337Braz
    1337Braz Member Posts: 27 Enthusiast WiFi Icon
    edited November 2020 Answer ✓
    Hello everyone!

Just wanted to let you know I will no longer reply or update this thread.

The reason is I sold my Acer Nitro 5 and bought the new Lenovo Legion 5 - that was the best fix for this issue.

In case anyone wants a workaround for Nitro 5 CPU throttle issue, user @P25ani explained above how undervolting GPU and limiting CPU TDP can "fix" this issue.

Have a good day everyone.

• 1337Braz
    @amoleb1982

To limit CPU TDP you can use Ryzen Controller.

And to undervolt GPU check this tutorial:
    https://youtu.be/oO50uMU7L-E

• dotexe
    dotexe Member Posts: 13

Tinkerer