Triton 500 pt515-51 BSOD during gaming and graphics card getting disconnected

Tombik_Doner
Tombik_Doner Member Posts: 9

Tinkerer

edited November 2023 in 2020 Archives
I have the rtx2080 equipped triton 500 pt515-51.

After a few minutes while playing games (mostly rainbow six siege) (it has happened once with gta5 and csgo) the game crashes and the computer stops detecting the dedicated graphics card. It shows up in device manager as a hidden device that is unplugged. Everything switches to the igpu and the dedicated card doesnt come back until i restart a few times. Sometimes when the game crashes there is also a BSOD saying VIDEO_DXGKRNL_FATAL_ERROR.

There is no undervolt or anything on the laptop and i have been using it for a couple of months now so it is a fairly clean install. I upgraded to the newest 1.12 bios and tried uninstalling/reinstalling different nvidia drivers. I also ran an sfc scan and it found a few things and fixed them alas the problem continues. I am also running the laptop in hybrid mode to save battery. I tried switching to dedicated once to see if it fixes the problem but it just makes it so that there is a solid black screen after the gpu gets disconnected.

This problem has been happening for a few weeks now but i cant send my laptop for service for a couple of weeks becuase i need it. I am also hoping to not reinstall windows since there are hard to install cad programs on it.

Answers

• andylb
    andylb ACE Posts: 3,827 Pathfinder
    edited February 2020
    Firstly NEVER game in any other mode than High Performance, you have a Gaming Laptop that is designed to game in that manner, the CPU and GPU are severely limited in Hybrid Mode so set your Power Plan to High Performance when on AC. Balanced/Hybrid for when on Battery