Upgrading M.2 SSD & RAM (A515-51G-51C2)

Vlada
Vlada Member Posts: 12

Tinkerer

edited December 2023 in 2020 Archives
Hi,
This is my first time asking Acer community.
I would like to ask some questions about M.2 and RAM. I hope someone would help me (@egydiocoelho).

I own Acer A515-51G-51C2 and I was planning to upgrade it with Kingston A2000 NVMe PCIe 500GB. Has anyone had any experience with it? If that could not work, I would like to try Samsung 970 EVO PLUS V-NAND NVMe 250GB, but someone in similar topic has experienced issue with it. Is it possible that only problem is it's capacity (@Darksaber77's is 500 GB) or maybe some software issue? If that could not work, I would like to try Kingston KC2000 250GB NVMe PCIe. What do you recommend?

I have some questions about RAM. I think maximal capacity for upgrading my model is 20 GB (4 built in + 16 additional). Is that correct? As I checked, working f(requency) is 2133 MHz, but I am having trouble to find module on that specific f in my country. So I could pick some on higher f (2400 or 2666 MHz) and it will be reduced to 2133 MHz. Which is fine. But, my question is: is it sure that it will work at all? Also, latency of my RAM is CL14. So, if I pick some with higher latency, additional RAM will work slower (on same f). But, again, is it going to work at all? For example, if I pick some with CL19 (assuming it will work) is it possible that I or laptop notice difference in performace, compared to built in module CL14 (with the naked eye) and have trouble with that? The difference is about 2,3 ns, if I calculated it right.

P.S. I tried to contact Acer support, but they did not respond to my e-mails.
        Also, English is not my native language, so I hope you will be able to understand me.

Best Answers

• andylb
    andylb ACE Posts: 3,827 Pathfinder
    edited January 2020 Answer ✓