My brand new Acer Chromebook N16P1 is very slow :(

HEM_SPHERE
HEM_SPHERE Member Posts: 1 New User
edited November 2023 in 2019 Archives
Hello, everyone
I am new to the Acer family and bought a brand new Acer Chromebook N16P1 in November 2018.

From the first day, it was slow but I hoped it would pick up as the days went by.

It's been nearly a month now but it still is very slow. I live in the UK and my internet speeds are high.

The issues I face as:
1) Slow responsiveness
2) Occasional freeze
3) Words on Google doc doesn't appear in real time (lag)

I have not installed any other apps other than what it came with.

Can someone please help me identify what could be wrong? I am a student and depend on this machine to get my work done. At most I have six tabs open on Chrome. I tried reducing it to three tabs but the issues still persist.

Please helP!

Many thanks!

Answers

• Jack22
    Jack22 ACE Posts: 3,717 Pathfinder
    @HEM_SPHERE
    Try doing power wash, but this will delete the data on the unit. So back up the data and try. 
    1. Sign out of your Chromebook.
    2. Press and hold Ctrl + Alt + Shift + r.
    3. Select Restart.
    4. In the box that appears, select Powerwash and then Continue.
    5. Follow the steps that appear and sign in with your Google Account.
      Once you've reset your Chromebook:
    Click on 'Yes' if the comment answers your question!
    Click on 'Yes' if the comment answers your question!
  • LittleJohnxxx
    LittleJohnxxx Member Posts: 1 New User
    I've done this and still the same, also I've tried to get in touch with someone in support and was blown off??? need help too.
  • IvorTollah
    IvorTollah Member Posts: 22 Troubleshooter
    You might want to start by seeing if the problem is with the browser or with the hardware. Chrome has a built in task manager that will let you see how much memory and CPU is being used. The following article is a little old (2012) but the basic steps are still valid: