Nitro NP515-51 (Nitro 5 Spin) Nvidia Driver Power, Sleep and Screen issues.

SalarX
SalarX Member Posts: 45 Devotee WiFi Icon
edited November 2023 in 2020 Archives
So I've been facing this issue for many months. What happens is whenever I leave the screen to turn off automatically after sometime (or manually turn it off), the display turns off and I cannot access my laptop after that (it hangs with display off), until I do a hard reset by pressing the power button for 5 seconds. Because of this I have to keep to laptop back light always ON, which consumes a lot of battery. However this issue is solved if I disable the Nvidia Driver, but then, what's the use of a gaming hybrid laptop when, you can't do gaming on it?
Anyone else facing the same issue on their Nitro Spin 5 please reply. I have contacted Acer Customer Care Center many times but it's not solved. 
If you feel I've helped you, give a Yes to Did this answer the question? 
If you like my posts or comments, give a Like.
My laptop is Acer Nitro 5 Spin (NP515-51). 
I'm from India with love for technology, so message me if you want to discuss or ask a question  :3

Best Answers

• misterblack
    misterblack Member Posts: 6

Tinkerer

Answer ✓
    I have the exact same problem as you.  My sleep and wake function doesn't work.  I constantly need to power off completely and power on whenever I need to wake up the laptop.

How do you disable the Nvidia driver?  Can you tell me the steps in detail so I do it properly?  If I disable the driver, does that mean the graphics card is no longer used?

I don't game, so I'm happy to use your solution.
  • JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,469 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    SalarX>>>The problem will never arise if I set Power Plan to never automatically sleep or turn display off after certain time.>>>