Need help with a HDD install on a E5-576G-5762

TomHF
TomHF Member Posts: 5

Tinkerer

edited August 2023 in 2018 Archives
I just got the Acer Aspire laptop and I want to add a 500GB/1TB HDD for additional storage space and possible backup. I've already ordered the 42.GDEN7.SV1 caddy and I am looking for advice on the drive itself. I am completely ignorant when it comes to technology so please treat me as a total novice.  I need to know what specs I should be looking for on the HDD such as size, connection type, etc, etc. I also need to know if there are any other steps that I need to take besides the actual mechanical installation of the drive such as formatting or any necessary steps to have the laptop recognize the drive.
TIA for any advice or help.

Best Answer

Answers

• brummyfan2
    brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 28,086 Trailblazer
    Hi,
    You need a 2.5" SATA HDD, attach the bracket to the HDD and insert the assembly as in the snip, the laptop will recognise the HDD and no preparation needed.

• TomHF
    TomHF Member Posts: 5

Tinkerer

Thanks for your response Brummy. Does that mean that a 2.5" SATA III HDD would be acceptable?
  • brummyfan2
    brummyfan2 ACE Posts: 28,086 Trailblazer
    Answer ✓
    No problem, yes 2.5" SATA III HDD will be fine.
  • roshanamin
    roshanamin Member Posts: 62 Die Hard WiFi Icon
    Hi,
    You need a 2.5" SATA HDD, attach the bracket to the HDD and insert the assembly as in the snip, the laptop will recognise the HDD and no preparation needed.