Acer Aspire XC-603 Auto-start?

laurenpgow
laurenpgow Member Posts: 4 New User

Hi everyone,

I feel ridiculous posting about what I imagine is a simple problem, but I have a new Aspire XC-603 desktop which won't turn off! It has some auto-start thing that's driving me nuts.

If I put the computer to sleep, it auto-wakes. If I turn the computer off (using the 'Shut Down' option) it'll turn off and automatically restart. The only way I can get the computer to STAY off is by holding down the power button every night.

I've tried changing all the power and energy-saving settings (it's set to sleep at 30 minutes), which didn't work. Help?

I'm not very technical so if you need more specs you'll have to tell me how to find them (sorry).

Lauren

Best Answer

• RevoMaxx
    RevoMaxx ACE Posts: 458 Pioneer
    Answer ✓

Hello I am no expert and I don't work for Acer or anyone with computers. 

I have a XC603 along with other computers and So this is just a IDEA of what may be the issue and I hope this help solve the issue in the end.

IF you restart your computer Press the Delete button to enter into the Bios. Then if memory serves me right on the top 3rd over should be Power option. Click that, under there is a place that will help turn your computer on with LAN or Keyboard/mouse. I would assume they are Enabled. Change them for this test so they are no long Enabled. Exit and save settings. Then boot into your Windoes. 

Let it run for a few minutes maybe check out your favorite website or what ever. Then go to Shut down your computer. See if your computer restarts like it has in the past?