Aspire One A115-31-C2Y3 completely dead

jlklein
jlklein Member Posts: 4 New User

Hi folks,

First post here. I'm a former electronics tech, know my way around computers, etc, and am helping a friend figure out what's wrong with her Acer Aspire One A115-31-C2Y3. One day it just wouldn't start up. Here's what I know:

-No screen or audible response when the power button is pushed.
-Power LED and battery status LED on the side do come on blue if the AC charger is plugged in.
-Battery LED did go from amber to blue (charging to full charge) after I had it plugged in for awhile.
-When LEDs are on, unplugging the AC adapter results in one audible beep.
-Initially she had a Lenovo power supply (same ratings/plug) but a replacement OEM power supply had no change.

The following reset actions had no effect:
-Reset button (pinhole on bottom).
-Unplugging and holding power button down for 30+ seconds to drain all residual power.
-Repeating same with battery disconnected internally.
-Holding down F2 when power button pushed.
-Alt+F10 factory reset has no effect.

Two questions:
1. I have read that some Acer motherboards have surface mount fuses, so am looking for information on that as it would make sense (just fixed an Air Fryer with a blown thermal fuse inside…if you're suddenly dies, probably the same issue and a $1.50 fix).
2. If this is unfixable, how do I recover any files on it? It has no HDD or SSD (or even the MoBo connectors), so just has the onboard Flash Memory, which is a chip soldered onto the MoBo. If there a connector somewhere that can be plugged into an interface to pull files off of it or is she SOL?

Appreciate any advice and assistance.

Thanks,
Jeff

Answers

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,462 Trailblazer

-No screen or audible response when the power button is pushed.
    -Power LED and battery status LED on the side do come on blue if the AC charger is plugged in.