Acer ES1-571 InsydeH20, I cannot boot any file and Bios is completely LOCKED

luke789
luke789 Member Posts: 24 Troubleshooter
edited November 2022 in Aspire Laptops

I've been using my Acer ES1-571 for many years without any problem. I really appreciate this laptop. I'm a Linux Ubuntu user.

Since last OS update, I cannot boot any file and the bios is completely locked (never seen before).

The bios installed is "InsydeH20 Setup Utility Rev 5.0 V1.01"

I do not have any possibility to load default options or to edit any option in any menu. All options are grey, cannot be selected and pressing F9 "setup defaults", does nothing. The only 3 option I can edit are "system time", "system date" and "set user password", no other possibilities.

For booting, I get "Default Boot Device Missing or Boot Failed. Insert Recovery Media and Hit any key Then select 'Boot Manager' to choose a new Boot Device or to Boot recovery Media". After pressing OK, I get the Boot Manager window with 2 Boot Options "b2" and "boot", but both do not work (same error as before "Default Boot Device Missing or Boot Failed.")

I'm completly stucked. I removed the CMOS battery but didn't help.

[Edited the thread to add issue detail]

Please help!

Best Answers

Answers

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,444 Trailblazer

>>>Since last OS update, I cannot boot any file and the bios is completely locked (never seen before).>>>

Sometimes happens with ubuntu. Try temporarily disconnecting the HDD to see if you can regain control of the BIOS settings.

Jack E/NJ

• luke789

Hello JackE and thank you for helping.

I've tried to disconnect the HDD but no news. Still same problem with HDD plugged in or off.

The laptop is completely locked :(

Any other idea?

Thank you very much!

• JackE
    edited November 2022

>>>I removed the CMOS battery but didn't help.>>>>