Linux in chromebook - asking for password while installing in Acer Spin 714 Chromebook CP714-1WN

Doreps
Doreps Member Posts: 8 New User
edited October 2022 in Chromebooks

Acer Spin 714 Chromebook (2022 - CP714-1WN)

Installed the Linux Edge browser (beta) successfully (quite automated). When installing a Brother Linux print/scanner driver the process was command line but the system asked for a password. Don't remember ever giving a p/w on the first Linux install.

I'm no Linux expert, so any suggestions or directions. Thanks.

[Thread was edited to add model name to the title and to include the topic issue]

Answers

• JackE
    JackE ACE Posts: 44,330 Trailblazer

>>>Don't remember ever giving a p/w on the first Linux install.>>>

The first Linux install might've asked if you wanted the system to remember the log-in pw. And if you answered yes, then the log-in is all it's gonna remember the pw for. But for just about anything else that can affect the system, a package installer is gonna want that same pw. So try to remember harder. 🙂

Jack E/NJ

• Doreps

Thanks for the quick reply ... with the bad news .

It's a new computer, guess Google will remember a lot of the settings and apps installed, so I could just power wash and start over. Your thoughts?

• William_mk2
    William_mk2 Ally Posts: 4,044

@Doreps

If you would like to do the power wash on your chromebook follow the steps given below

Try to do a chrome reset on your chromebook  

open chrome

click on three dots on top right corner 

click on settings

Scroll down - go to advanced

click on restore setting to default

you will see reset settings - cancel

click on reset settings 

Close the chrome and open it It should work fine.. 

If it is still not working.. 

We need to do a power wash on your chrome book.  

Restart the chromebook.

On the login screen please don’t type the password.

Hold the Ctrl key + shift key + alt key on keyboard and then press the letter r once