Acer Aspire S7-191

MikeZen
MikeZen Member Posts: 3 New User

I'm so disappointed with this outwardly beautiful notebook. Little did I realize, less than 3 years ago when I bought this 4th generation Intel i5 cpu notebook, I would be stuck with a useless LEMON in 2016. Yes, Windows 8/8.1 were ugly, that's for sure, and yes, I should have realized when the ram maxed out at a pathetic 4 Gb, it had a very limited mother board and was far, far away from being future proof, but hey, I fell for its beauty and charm. At the time of purchase, I was tossing up between this model and the Acer Aspire S7-393, as I already have a 5th generation Intel i7 cpu desktop, and being a Forex Currency Trader, I needed something very portable, but modestly powerful and the beauty of this machine was a bonus. When trading in restaurants and coffee shops I could not reacall the number of compliments this machine attracted.

Why would Acer design and produce such a wonderful looking machine with such deliberate short comings? Then Microsoft released Windows 10 for free, who wouldn't want to upgrade? However, for those who did not want to exercise a recovery within a certain timeframe, you lost your original OS (Windows 8), and that was my experience. Now I'm stuck with a machine of very limited capability, the wifi no longer works, and Acer could not care less, and for this privilege, I paid over AU$1000.

I own 3 Acer devices; there will never be a 4th.

Answers

• philetus
    philetus ACE Posts: 4,759 Pathfinder

That laptop nagged you when it was new to make a Factory default backup. A recovery, so if something happened you could recover it to the way you received it from Acer.

https://store.acer.com/en-us/extended/recovery/

• MikeZen
    MikeZen Member Posts: 3 New User

Tell me what other vendor produces a $1000 plus machine with such limitations, that is less than 3 years old, and can't run Windows 10?