Should i upgrade my aspire R7! you Decide! money talks but chocolate sings!! help me x

Foxy-lucy
Foxy-lucy Member Posts: 22 New User

Hi guys x 

I was hoping to get some advice from an expert regarding my new purchase, 

Acer Aspire R7 Review - Windows Convertible Tablets and Notebook Reviews by MobileTechReview

It’s a freaky looking laptop / tablet and perfect design for my personal needs. I’m in love with the design and can’t wait to get it. 

My background is fashion and not laptops that why I’m here to learn, I have decided to upgrade the system, 

I’m going to purchase the 8gb ram stick below, I was hoping someone could tell me if upgrading the ram would be something I could do personally, I would remove the 2gb stick and it would give me a free slot for the 8gb, I have never opened a laptop before or did anything like it but I did check YouTube and there is a billion videos showing how to upgrade ram which look simple enough,

in the mobile tech review link above it shows the insides of the laptop, can someone with experience tell me if the ram is easy to get to, also regarding the setup would I need to go into BIOS to update ram or will this be automatic, not that I know how to do that but just read some place it needs to be done sometimes, I was hoping the machine would pick it up itself. 

HyperX Genesis 8GB 1600 MHz DDR3 PC3-12800 Non-ECC CL9 SODIMM Notebook Dual Channel Memory, this is the model I’m going for,, from my research it’s what is required, I just don’t understand if the dual channel part & non ECC matters at all, do they effect the ram being accepted by the laptop, only thing I’m worried about is it being excepted cause of brand and as I know spec is right,

Amazon.com : HyperX Genesis 8GB 1600 MHz DDR3 PC3-12800 Non-ECC CL9 SODIMM Notebook Dual Channel Memory KHX1600C9S3K2/8GX : Computer Memory : Electronics

The ram part I’m sure I can do if some guidance from some nice people here.