Aspire V5-123 Newbie needs help

kithra
kithra Member Posts: 9 New User
I do apologise for a long first post, but I’m a total laptop newbie. I can build a desktop from scratch, but when it comes to software etc. I have no idea. So thank you for your patience. I've just bought an Acer laptop, (btw: it's not a touch screen), the specs of which are: Aspire V5-123-12104060nkk, Model ZHL Windows 8.1 - AMD E - Series (E1 - 2100, 1 GHz, 1 MB) - 29.5 cm (11.6") LED - 16:9 HD - Active Matrix TFT Colour LCD - ComfyView - AMD Radeon HD 8210 - 4 GB DDR3 SDRAM - 500 GB Serial ATA - No - And I'm finding the on-line manual it came with of no help at all. On that topic what’s the Fn key all about, I can’t find a keyboard layout showing what all the keys do. So if anyone can help with the following questions I'd be more than thankful: (1) I set up a Hotmail Outlook.com email account but it doesn't seem to be working, and I can also see no way of exiting the program apart from when I close the laptop. It wouldn't accept the Hotmail Outlook.com email account details I have on my desktop, which runs on Windows 7 Home Premium instead of this horrible new Windows 8.1 on the laptop. Is that why it won't accept my original email details? Or is it due to my not completing the Microsoft ID in that I didn’t set up the security information for it? Should that be so then how do I access the MS ID to complete the process? (2) I have the same problem trying to log-in to Skype. On my desktop it's never a problem, but on the laptop it won't accept any of my username/password details be they from this desktop or the new Hotmail Outlook.com account I had to set up. I've downloaded the update, which I found very difficult to find and ended up downloading the desktop version, but the laptop now says that I've now updated the program. Where am I going wrong, or should I just set up a totally new Skype account? (3) The manual talks about documents but I can see no way of writing any, regardless of whethe