Aspire 5742 recovery discs issue

bakstop25
bakstop25 Member Posts: 5

Tinkerer

This is a long post.  I've been through many steps already.  I'm no tech expert but I read directions well (most of the time) and my knowledge comes from working through the problems as they come up.  I'm using a newer laptop to make the various discs and drives.

I have an 08 Acer Aspire 5742 running windows 7 hp. I had some deep rooted malware and decided to do a system restore. The system restore worked and the first thing I did was windows update. There were 192 updates and it took a couple of hours for them to download and install. After the restart when it was down to the last 5 updates to be installed, a message appeared on the screen stating that the updates failed and the entire group of updates would be rolled back. Eight hours later nothing had changed. The screen looked exactly the same. I don't know if I did the wrong thing but I assumed the rollback was in an endless loop and made a decision to do the recovery with my OEM Acer discs.

There is one system disc and three recovery disks with the Acer set. I don't know if all recovery discs work exactly the same but in case they don't I'll include the information that came up onscreen. After the system disc is inserted and windows loads files the Acer Recovery Management box options are -

Restore OS to factory defaults - Restore OS to factory default status. All data on C: drive will be deleted. (This was the option I've been attempting to use)
Restore OS and retain user data -Restore only the OS of your PC to the factory defaults. Files from your user accts will be transferred to C:\backup. This option will not remove malware. (When I tried this: No user data has been found on your computer)